We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!”
Review of Jack's Retreat

Jack's Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: An outdoor patio for enjoying the Carolina Beach breeze while enjoying your Hot Dog, BBQ or chicken tenders with fries, onion rings and a great beer selection! We carry vegetarian hot dogs, along with gluten-free buns and toppings. Bring the family, and your furry friends out for a great night on the patio.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

They have four different types of dogs, and lots of different toppings. Everything I had was delicious! We have stopped here after hanging out at the beach two years in a row. The employees working were so friendly...I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Manager at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for the continued support into our second season. Glad you found us in year one and returned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    41
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great veggie dogs, great selection, great service! Very friendly! Wish we had this restaurant in PA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Great having you guys come in a few times while you were vacationing! Hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cold, un-cooked, no creativity whatsoever”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was excited to see a veggie dog on the menu, but when I got it, it was cold, didn't seem cooked. They merely steam them. Could use a little creativity and need to get gluten free buns in their. Oh and the male owner could be much more welcoming and friendly. I was the only person in the place and you'd think he could be just a little (well alot) more friendly. Could be pretty good option if you are vegetarian if they bumped up the offerings and friendliness.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BestHonestReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We do indeed steam all our hot dogs and our Gluten free menu - including Gluten free rolls - is posted on the front door as well as next to the register. We offer Gluten free beef hot dogs, rolls, and a list of Gluten free topping choices on this special menu.

We would have loved the feedback regarding your veggie dog being cold during your visit so we could have provided you another quality offering as well as reviewed with you our Gluten free and vegan choices. The Chicago dog is the most popular for vegan.

We appreciate your feedback that your meal was not served to our high standards so we can ensure future orders will be hot and fresh, as we sell over 100 veggie dogs each week with rave reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and pet friendly!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family of 6 and i enjoyed this place most of all places in carolina beach for lunchtime. Excellent hotdogs, pork sandwich, chicken that we had with rootbeer floats!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabird31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Manager at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I still have a root beer float every time I work. They are so good!
We have tried to add other menu items to please the whole family with the chicken and pork.
Thanks for sharing your vacation time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a simple meal and a cold beer”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Island hots is very near the Carolina Beach boardwalk and is pet friendly- I bring my dogs here too- they bring you out a dish of water too- very nice owners and the food is great

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebiDINATALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Manager at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We love having you stop by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Retreat also viewed

Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Jack's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing