We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dogs!”
Review of Jack's Retreat

Jack's Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: An outdoor patio for enjoying the Carolina Beach breeze while enjoying your Hot Dog, BBQ or chicken tenders with fries, onion rings and a great beer selection! We carry vegetarian hot dogs, along with gluten-free buns and toppings. Bring the family, and your furry friends out for a great night on the patio.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great dogs!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

if you're at the beach, you need to stop by here and try them! The onion rings are also yummy! It's also pet friendly! The people who run it are very nice! Nothing fancy, just good food & value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Manager at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for stopping by!
we get lots of comments on our onion rings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    39
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shillington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Give me some- yum!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Day 3 on Treasure Island- we for sure struck gold. What a little gem. Staff is super warm and friendly. We stopped in after a day full of sun and needed a light lunch. It's nice that they offer turkey, veggie, or beef/pork dogs. We opted for the original beef for all of them. my husband gave his rating as super bangin, my Carolina dog was de-lish,
and my daughter's chili dog was just okay- she likes the dog grilled not boiled and sweeter chili sauce. We also ordered chicken tenders- which were lightly breaded and absolutely tender. The fries were pretty good- fresh cut style. We are here for a few more days, so we may be headed back again for another dog fix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We love your rating of "super bangin"
Glad you enjoyed your visit to our place and also to the Island. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to North Carolina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GOOD DOG”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The outdoor patio is pet friendly, which is nice. Hot dogs are pricey ($2.75 each) but delicious and a nice variety of toppings. We like the "All the Way". Dogs are just like the Trolley Stop, even the names/toppings are the same or very similar. But they seem to have a bigger variety of extras (fries, etc.).

The best deal seems to be the kids meal which includes hot dog, fries and a drink (free refills) for $4.99. Seems like a lot, but when you consider a dog is $2.75, fries are $1.85, and drinks are $1.85 if you are buying ala carte, then it's really a good deal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginnyandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
it's nice for dogs traveling with their families to get out too! We always greet them with a fresh bowl of water. Thanks for visiting us during your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went there a couple of times for lunch. the hot dogs and fries were great and the people were very friendly. I would definitely recommend this as a lunch stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We love seeing our guests a few times a week while they are on vacation. It's a great compliment for us to have you return and we get to know our Carolina Beach visitors. Thanks for giving a review and see you on your next trip to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont
Level Contributor
411 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great fries.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice place to get that dog and fries. The fries are fresh and a nice portion. Lots of options for the toppings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank whimisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Glad you came in! we cook everything fresh so the fries are always hot and crispy and make all our hot dog topings daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Retreat also viewed

Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Jack's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing