We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for lunch”
Review of Jack's Retreat

Jack's Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: An outdoor patio for enjoying the Carolina Beach breeze while enjoying your Hot Dog, BBQ or chicken tenders with fries, onion rings and a great beer selection! We carry vegetarian hot dogs, along with gluten-free buns and toppings. Bring the family, and your furry friends out for a great night on the patio.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went there a couple of times for lunch. the hot dogs and fries were great and the people were very friendly. I would definitely recommend this as a lunch stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We love seeing our guests a few times a week while they are on vacation. It's a great compliment for us to have you return and we get to know our Carolina Beach visitors. Thanks for giving a review and see you on your next trip to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    39
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clermont
Level Contributor
411 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great fries.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice place to get that dog and fries. The fries are fresh and a nice portion. Lots of options for the toppings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank whimisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Glad you came in! we cook everything fresh so the fries are always hot and crispy and make all our hot dog topings daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place for a hot dog!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

neat little place right near the boardwalk. Great hot dogs, fries, and super great onion rings.
Very kid friendly. Try it! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch at Island Hots”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stopped in here for a quick lunch while we were enjoying a day in the sun-the location is great, right by the boardwalk, prices are very great, and the menu is creative, which we LOVED. We had the Carolina dogs that have a little kick; great coleslaw on them. We also tried the bbq pork nachos which we loved. This isn't fine dining (don't go to a hot dog stand for fine dining folks), but it is exactly what it should be-fast, affordable, beach worthy food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klu228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for coming by and glad you enjoyed our newest menu item - BBQ pork nachos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun and great tasting”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If you are in the area and want something great for lunch go to Island Hits. You can't go wrong. Get the meal that comes with the flyer to enjoy on the beach!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daultonl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Jack's Retreat, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for stopping in and I'm glad the flyer was a useful souvenir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Retreat also viewed

Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Jack's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing