We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place”

Carolina Beach State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fun place”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Park rangers are great! Nice visitors center and good trails. Great for the grandkids, aged 5-7. Spent a lot of time on the boat landing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlynnbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    104
    29
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topsail Island, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Fishing!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We live close to here and visit often throughout the summer. Flounder and Drum fishing is great from land and there are boat landings as well. Not sure if there is a fee to land / launch but I doubt it. Be sure to use a Carolina Rig if you are fishing for Flounder. Great place to take the kids! Keep your eyes peeled on the low vegetation, venus fly traps grow wild here. There is a small fishing dock, go at high tide.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravisTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good alternative to a hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a decent place to camp if you are trying to visit the Wilmington area on a tight budget ($20/night). Pretty, wooded area near the beach but you can't see the water from any of the sites. We went the Friday before Easter without a reservation and it was slim pickings. The bathrooms were clean and maintained but there weren't really any ways to access it without walking through other campsites, so I would recommend not getting a site in the center as you might have people cutting through your site at all hours. The sites closest to the water seemed to provide the most seclusion. The biggest complaint about this campground was that they close the entrance gates at 8pm and do not open them until 8am. This means you need to make sure you are out of there by 8pm otherwise you are locked in. If you come back after 8pm, you can park along side the road and walk back to the campground. This is about a mile walk and you definitely need flashlights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank thall6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Busy this year. The park was busier than I remember. We love the trails. And I always look forward to the nature trails by the water. We will see you in May!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank k f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hidden Waterfront State Park Gem”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This relatively small state park nestles along the Cape Fear River and the Intracoastal Waterway. There are several miles of interlocking easy hikes, some among long leaf pines, and others along the water or through marshes. Best visited fall through spring if mosquitoes bother you!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing