We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, rude staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach House Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view, rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

Property is directly on the ocean, thus provides nice views from the balconies. Be forewarned - ask about smoking rooms, as we did not and were placed in one. Rooms are OK for the price, but don't expect complete cleanliness. Most of the staff was friendly - however an old women on the last day completely made us leave with a sour taste in our mouth. We had just finished packing up the car after checking out and had our suits on to walk to the beach. The parking lot had at least 4 empty spaces. This old women then walks up to us and tells us that we had to leave - to allow ample parking for arriving guests. Would it be too much to ask to keep our car in the lot for another 2 hours before we headed home? Apparently so. Way to ensure we never come back!!!

  • Liked — the view from the balcony
  • Disliked — room that smelled like smoke
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElonKatieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhouseinn, management at Beach House Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2007
We are sorry this guest feels that they where treated unfairly and felt the need to be disrespectful to the owner in their review but unfortunately we do not have enough parking for both the incoming and outgoing guest to be in the lot at the same time. We have plenty of parking for registered guest but unfortunately once you check out we need all out going guest to leave during busy summer months so we can get the property ready for they next group of guests. It is not fair to the people checking in that day not to have somewhere to park. There are public lots available near by if someone would like to stay at the beach during the day they check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
58
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Stayed there for 4 nights with the family. The location on the beacdh was good as was the price. The room could have been vacuumed after each night. Also, if you are not a smoker, make sure you request a non-smoking room. We were never asked while booking the room.

Having the kitchen was nice for the family.

Would make one final note that the last day there we I did see a roach.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Could have been a little cleaner
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north caorlina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2006

the owners very nice and the room was resonable 58.00 a night and they also told us when we left that if we came back in november they would give us a 3rd night free and last time i checked the rooms were 40.00 a night and you know what they also have a poo; and right at the beach now you other motels down there need to take lessons from these owners

  • Liked — the whole stay
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — you can call and make a reservation and pay for when you get there no credit card needed an dplease don't abuse that privelge of these nice people
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank becky4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhouseinn, Manager/Owner at Beach House Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2007
We thank the person who left this positive review however we believe they may have us mistaken with another motel. Our rates are very reasonable during the off season but we currently do not have any rates at $40 dollars, please give us a call for a rate quote. We also do not have any offers of a night free during November. However we do have a pool and we are located directly facing the oceanfront. Again thanks to the person who wanted to leave a review about us but we wanted to be clear to our current and future customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2006

We have been going to Carolina beach for three years now and this is still my favorite hotel. I read a review that said they were rude and that the room was dirty but we have never had that problem. They are always very nice the housekeeper was even aware that I had a young child and always knocked softly in case he was taking a nap. The pool was always clean and well kept. While some pepole complain about the size of the towels, I don't think that hotels as a whole have great towels. While this hotel is not fancy it is one of the best in carolina beach and I have stayed in 5 different ones and this is my favorite one. I think some pepole are just wayyyyy to picky.

  • Liked — Right on beach, Friendly staff
  • Disliked — small towels
  • Tips/Secrets — very nice hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rhino'sgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

Where do I start? The "owner" was rude to my family to start. I should of stopped then and there. The places was a true dump. I don't think they ever cleaned the sheets. We were so disgusted we contacted the Health Department and Better Business Bureau. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhouseinn, manager/owner at Beach House Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2007
I am sorry this person was not satisfied with their stay with us. However their review is incorrect and missing parts of the story. Her family was never treated rudely by anyone because she is the only one I spoke with directly. Plus if she had contacted the health department there would have been a follow up by them with us and no such inspection took place. We did not learn of any problems until the day she checked out of the motel with no way to check her claim since they slept in the beds and used the room. She also left out the part where she was refunded her entire stay the same day because we do not wish to have an unhappy customer. Yet again I am sorry she was unhappy and welcome all reviews but please tell the truth and the entire story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, S.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

Ijust wanted to say my husband and I have stayed at this motel for several years now, and we have always been pleased, and grateful to find a room overlooking this beautiful beach, rooms are clean, neat, spacious and the staff are friendly and great, the pool is always clean and safe,The folks here always respect our privacey and we feel just like this little spot is all ours, [ Home Away From Home]Just what you're looking for when it' s time to relax, and and get away from it all. They deserve a great big Thank- You! Roy and Kathy Buff
Mayo S.C.

  • Liked — tHE VEIW IS AWESOME
  • Disliked — That we cann't stay longer when we go
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay there once and you'll be hooked.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Buffsstuff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

This motel was absolutely wonderful! Our room had a private balcony overlooking the beach, and we had a kitchen. This place was very clean with friendly folks who keep it up. Yes, the pool is closed "at dark." This is in order to keep noise and rowdyness down so families aren't bothered at night and it works. Above all this, the price is family friendly, too!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Charla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.2 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn and Suites

Property: Beach House Inn and Suites
Address: 412 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small (22 units)oceanfront Inn with rooms and suites. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and vary in size. Our suites are one room units with a full kitchen in the same room. Most have a private balcony or porch area facing the ocean, a few face the swimming pool. All units are comfortable with quality bedding and furnishings. A peaceful and relaxing Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Carolina Beach
Beach Hotel Carolina
Beach Carolina
Beach Motel Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing