We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When anyone smokes - everyone smokes. . .”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach House Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really don't understand the high rating of this motel - stayed for 3 nights since fewer nights were not offered. We had stayed in Wrightsville Beach, just a few miles up the road, but the feel of the town is completely different. While the beach is beautiful, well groomed, natural dunes with sea oats in most places, the town just feels distressed. There is a gang presence on the street side with signs in bar windows that say "No club colors", old motels in places that have been converted into multiple resident facilities, signs of mold and water damage everywhere. In summary, here are the pros and cons in my view:
cons:
•The "private" balconies are not private - timber frame construction dividers with airspace over and under allows smokers to pollute everyone's air - conversations and children playing feel like they are in the same room - defeats the purpose of the oceanfront accommodations.
•The suites are small, dated and patched up, painted over.
•The rooms are "surface clean" but carpets are thick with ground-in dirt.
•A small parking lot with a few excellent covered spaces but the rest of the spots are tiny and the overflow lot is across the street. I wouldn't feel comfortable leaving my car there.
The pros:
•New shower surround and bathroom fixtures with new linoleum flooring - felt clean and sanitized.
•One of the most beautiful, well maintained beaches on the East Coast that I have been to.
•The suites have almost everything you would need but bring a hair dryer and iron if you need them.
•A Mom & Pop motel - very friendly and responsive.
•New looking linens, dish cloths, etc.
•Walking distance to the "Boardwalk".

As the title suggests, we won't be going back but, if the smoking and noise from neighbors doesn't bother you, this might be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: The upper floors give the best ocean view and the most "potential for quiet", remember you...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David_H51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Beach House Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed there for a two night stay ,in a rainy time at the beach. The only thing i have to "complain" about is that the rooms are still in the 70's time frame in terms of decor.Let me explain. Door handles, sink in bathroom, kitchen cabinets,curtains, etc ..etc..oh and a small microwave from 1990 . For the amount of money that is charged per night ,at least bring the rooms into the 21'st century and change those ac. units to much quieter ones. I will do some more looking before i would rebook here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were 100% pleased with our room & the staff. We booked oceanfront efficiency & it was great - private entrance, nice big balcony, great view of the ocean - so relaxing. Their score was 100% and they do an excellent job of keeping rooms clean. Our room also had a flat screen TV which is not advertised on their website. It was perfect for what we wanted. We stayed for 4 nights and had one of the most relaxing vacations. Perfect walking distance to boardwalk & marina and plenty of restaurants. We never even got in our car the first 24 hours - we walked everywhere. Definitely try eating at the Shuckin Shack at Carolina beach - great wings & crablegs and Freddie's in Kure beach - great Italian restaurant that serves some really good grilled pork chops.

Room Tip: Choose room on second floor - the view is good & less stairs to conquer.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were there only two nights but have a very pleasant stay. Office staff was friendly and helpful, both during phone reservations and our stay there. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, private balcony overlooking the ocean (2nd floor). There was a small refrigerator (apt. size), microwave, small stove, sink (even provided towel and dish cloth with dish detergent). Will stay there again when in Carolina Beach for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gagabetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent a long weekend here, on the second floor. Our room was very clean and spacious, we had a small oven, microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator and sink. We had a beautiful view from a "private" balcony overlooking the ocean. I say "private" because at the beach, privacy does not mean the same thing. We could hear every word from the balconies next to us, and below, too. Once the balcony doors were closed, though, it was very quiet. Gorgeous beach, within walking distance to the downtown beach front area.

Room Tip: A corner room could be best, on the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lovetotraveleurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights overlooking the ocean. We were on the 3 rd floor but any of the 3 floors will provide a beautiful view of the ocean. The owner, Larry and his family took very good care of us. The room was an efficiency and had everything your kitchen at home has. A small, family owned property that is very clean, cute and comfortable. Room rates EXTREMELY reasonable. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ocean front!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivyeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The staff was friendly and we appreciate their pride of ownership and the little extras, like having the colorful hanging flower baskets which give the establishment a cozy cottage feel and look. We enjoyed our stay in room 209. Great value, fairly clean, Awesome Oceanfront location!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AutumnDestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn and Suites

Address: 412 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small (22 units)oceanfront Inn with rooms and suites. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and vary in size. Our suites are one room units with a full kitchen in the same room. Most have a private balcony or porch area facing the ocean, a few face the swimming pool. All units are comfortable with quality bedding and furnishings. A peaceful and relaxing Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Carolina Beach
Beach Hotel Carolina
Beach Carolina
Beach Motel Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing