We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family-owned motel”
Review of Sea Ranch Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Ranch Motel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly family-owned motel”
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Our family of 15 (6 rooms) stayed here in June, 2007 for our daughter's beach wedding. This is a wonderful family-owned ocean front motel. Our daughter was married on the beach of the property. Our room was an ocean view with full kitchen. They have 2 pools and a great deck/patio for hanging out. The owner/manager Greg was so accommodating with every request. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We could not have chosen a more perfect place for our daughter's special day. This is a great location for a family reunion or large group. The rates are very reasonable. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Friendliness of motel staff.
  • Disliked — Furniture could be updated.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthie0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
54
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester County, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Sea Ranch Motel in September 2007. We stayed there in September 2006, and enjoyed ourselves so much, we came back for an entire week in 2007. We love everything about this motel. We booked an oceanfront efficiency. It was the same room we booked in 2006. We could not wait to come back. We are coming back this September and are bringing more of the family. If you come to Sea Ranch, you will not be disappointed. Everyone is freindly and ready to help if you need any assistance. The rooms are spacious, and have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. My mom came with me on this trip, and she doesn't really like the beach (so she says). She enjoyed herself so much, she wanted to stay another day. She's coming back with us this year. We can't wait to see you in September.

  • Liked — we had everything we needed. we had all the ammenities we needed to feel like we were at home.
  • Disliked — I can't thing of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ronjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We went for a four day family vacation to take our two smaller children to the beach for the first time. The Sea Ranch was by far an excellent choice for us. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was exceptionally clean. The heated pool was perfect for a swim with the kids. The jacuzzi is excellent for a sore back or just for relaxing from a hard day! The view from our balcony was breath taking. We felt like we had our own "private beach!"I agree, the showers are somewhat small, but I didn't go for the shower, I went for a vacation, so that wasn't much of a problem! Over all the place was an excellent choice money wise and vacation wise.

We plan on going again next year for a week and getting the effeciency room!

  • Liked — The view from the balcony!
  • Disliked — The small shower.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yournctoylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hope mills
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Once again we stayed at the sea ranch and had a wonderful time. After reading some of the other comments i decided to just add a little foot note. yes its true the showers are terribly small, and difficult to wash in, the water leaves you feeling some what soapy, but for the price, location, ammenties , and exceptional friendly service from the WHOLE FAMILY. you cant beat it. If i wanted to go to a hotel to spend tons of money ,i would go to a hilton, but im going to the beach for swiming, fishing and quality family time, not to look at four walls and a tv. I can do that at home. the sea ranch as a overall hotel is just the place to bring your family to have a nice quiet relaxing stay and enjoy what you came for. I will not stay anywhere other than the Sea Ranch, cost, location and excellent service, is what makes the sea ranch the best choice for your ocean visit.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — showers
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawdawg006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

We live in Raleigh and were looking for a quick getaway to the beach.
We had always stayed at Atlantic Towers, but they were booked, so we decided to try the Sea Ranch.

PROs:
1. Pools were clean and not too crowded. Hot tub was large, clean and not crowded.
2. All non-smoking rooms.
3. If you're looking for a cheap quick dive, this is the place.

CONS:
1. Pool closed at 9pm and didn't open up again until 9am. If you have to check out at 11am, there isn't much time to enjoy the pool.
2. Bathroom was filthy. Towels were stained and ripped.
3. Decor was old old old.
4. Not enough outlets. With their fridge and lamps, the only outlets free were in the bathroom. Bring surge protectors with you if you need CPAP machines and if you bring your laptops and charge cell phones. The power blipped several times while we were there. Wiring/
outlets looked old.
5. You had to plug in the mini fridge when you got there (and wait for it to get cold), and unplug it when you left.
6. They charge you 25 cents for each time you fill your ice bucket. Come on...
7. Lock on door was very very old, and flimsy. Had to slam door several times to make sure the door locked which I am sure the neighbors loved. Wound up carrying all valuables around with us since
there was no safe to lock them in.
8. Did not feel safe there. There are no private balconies, so if you get a room in front of some stairs, like we did, other people and especially kids are always running back and forth in front of your room to get over to their rooms. I felt like someone was going to bust through that flimsy lock at any moment. Couldn't leave drapes
open due to so many people passing back and forth. Felt like I was on
display in my 'vacation' getaway.
9. Maid walked IN without knocking and way before we checked out. Just turned the key and walked right in.
10. Since no smoking was allowed in the rooms, everyone was smoking outside on the porches in the rocking chairs. You could smell it at the outdoor pool area, the indoor pool. It was disgusting. I was trying to enjoy the pool and couldn't due to all the smoke.
11. There is no way to see the ocean from the 'ocean front' pool as they advertise. All you see is sand due and weeds.
12. Parking is horrid.

I will not go back. I just cannot believe this property is rated #2 in Carolina Beach. No way. Atlantic Towers, Marriott, Golden Sands are much nicer.

  • Liked — clean pools
  • Disliked — dirty room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank heathercoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Based on reviews here on Trip Advisor, we decided to try the Sea Ranch...and were very happy with the experience. No, it is not an upscale, high dollar motel with tons of amenities. What it is, though, is an affordable beach front motel close to everything and with enough amenities to make it a great value.

Since the purpose of a "beach trip" is to visit the beach, we did not spend lots of time in the motel....but the room was adequately sized and clean, the bathroom was a little small (particularly, as noted in several other reviews, the shower), but for the price, I don't think we could have had a better experience.

Also, the place has character....We have stayed in countless motels and can't remember anything about any of them....the Sea Ranch is different enough that we WILL remember it (with a smile). Great choice.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toolman0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

My family and I stayed there for the fourth of July. We had an oceanfront room with a kitchen. That was very nice and clean. The only thing that was bad was you had to climb 2 flights of stairs, but I needed the exercise. I really enjoyed the fact that they had 2 pools and we always went to the enclosed one. In all, I will stay at the Sea Ranch again. Nice place and cheap for the fourth. Oh, one thing they really need more parking places.

  • Liked — 2 pools
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beachgirl227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
1.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Motel

Property: Sea Ranch Motel
Address: PO Box 176, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-0176
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Carolina Beach
Sea Hotel Carolina Beach
Sea Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing