We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, dirty room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Raeford, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, dirty room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The front desk staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was pretty good. We were only staying one night, so we didn't complain about the dirty blanket on the bed or the smeared stains on the walls. The bed was not comfortable, but was expected for this type of hotel. Also, the tv was old and so small. The pool area looks nice too. The fitness center consists of a couple machines right next to the front desk. There is a glass wall, so I hope you don't mind people watching you work out while they eat breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank First L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    147
    127
    61
    41
See reviews for
231
120
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gallup, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Last week my parter and I stayed at the Carolina Beach facility and have mixed feelings. Our initial room had a heater that didn't work, so we were moved to another room. The desk clerks, Hollie and a gentleman whose name I don't recall,were quick to respond to our needs/requests, which ranged from no heat to housekeeping. My partner and I expressed our concerns to Hollie and had she not been at the desk alone, she would have gone and serviced our room for us. That was more than admirable of her. Basically, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, but the housekeeping services are unacceptable. Our room was not made up for the five days of our stay. Should conditions improve in the future, I look forward to staying at Microtel again. The proximatey to my parent's house makes it an ideal place to stay. Please contact me if you have any additional questions. Best regards.

Dr. Lewis Gambill

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My dad and I went for a business trip in this hotel for the first time, and sure to be the last. The rooms are so small, have a stench, and color scheme is nauseating. We were about to leave when they offered us a big room on the first floor, which I usually don't like first floor at all, but the price was unbeatable and was close to the beach and included breakfast, plus we didn't stay more than 2 days. It was ok, but not for us.

Room Tip: Double rooms are not pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

You read alot of mishaps on this site about this hotel, and all the bad/negative things...I stay here on the average of 50+ nights a year and im a private citizen on my own time, no work here..

I will continue to stay here for the future! Its not perfect by no means, but if I do have a issue the staff takes control of the situation quickly for me.

Holly & Jean are the best front workers you will meet! They are aces in the hole for me and im glad to deal with them at anytime, and for the times its over their heads Bruce has made things correct.

If your wanting hilton? Go to hilton, this isnt a 5 start place. But for good sleep, good breakfast, and easy parking & greatly located to everything on the island? Its the place for me

Room Tip: If you don't like the sun coming into the room at early hours? Ask for the poolside of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a hard time finding the hotel. We called the reception desk twice and they were friendly, polite and patient. They gave us wonderful directions, and when we arrived I cannot say enough about the reception we received. Also in the morning we had to go to the store and the reception clerk said there's coffee help yourself. It was 6am in the morning and when we returned they had breakfast ready. It is not a fancy hotel but a good value and great service, and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room OK, but room clean-up service was poor for our 3 day stay.
Specifically, beds were not made, ice bucket not emptied, no replenish on shampoo, dirty hand towel, no replacement on cups.
Comode seat was deteriorating. Faucet rusty, facial tissue holder VERY rusty.
Sink slow to drain.
Coffee was weak and un-labeled, bagels / cream cheese were not tasty or fresh.

Other thoughts: would prefer night light in bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
1.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.5 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#9 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#8 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Address: 907 Lake Park Blvd N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-4830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a clean and comfortable hotel with 59 beautifully-appointed rooms, the Microtel Inn in Carolina Beach, NC, goes the extra mile to provide modern conveniences to make your stay extra pleasant. Enjoy cable TV , refrigerators in most rooms, microwaves in our suites, work desk, phone with data port and complimentary high-speed Internet access.Choose from three types of comfortable accommodations-Single Room, Double Room or Suite. Enjoy our exceptional location that puts you just a 5 block walk from the beach, a short drive to historic downtown Wilmington, Wilmington International Airport and have the Fort Fisher Ferry nearby if you are going South. We are also located just an hour south of Camp Lejeune. Everything you need for your business trip or vacation with the luxury of being on Pleasure Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Carolina Beach
Microtel Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Microtel Carolina Beach
Microtel Hotel Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing