We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People stayed longer,Microltel caneled my Reserved Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“People stayed longer,Microltel caneled my Reserved Room!”
Reviewed November 10, 2007

On October 13th I made a room reservation for Nov 8,9,10 to stay at this hotel with my husband and grandson.We were keeping him for the weekend while his parents had their own weekend... my daughter's husband,who is a Marine, had just come home from Iraq. Upon the day of arrival, I called the hotel about midafternoon, twenty minutes from the hotel to get the exact exit location. Sue, the General Manager answered the phone and told me that I no longer had the guaranteed non smoking room because someone had decided to stay longer and they didn't know when I made the reservation, that a group of 4th grade students would be staying. I have never experienced this in any of my travels. I believe it is normal policy for a hotel to tell the prior guest, that someone else has the room reserved...otherwise it doesn't do you any good to make reservations with " this " hotel. Word of mouth and the internet speak volume's for a business. Shame on Microtel Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingcouple566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    174
    148
    73
    50
See reviews for
280
144
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We spent a week in October at this Microtel. I had out patient surgery in Wilmington. The entire staff couldn't have been nicer! Our room was clean and comfortable. The property and pool area was always kept clean. No, it's not on the beach, but public areas with ample parking a few minutes away. The breakfast area was well stocked and if anything missing, it was quickly replaced. Fresh coffee available 24/7 in the breakfast area. As I have to go back for Drs appts., we will always make our reservations here. They do have wireless internet available.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tcandkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The manager at this hotel (Sue) was extremely angry because I got a great rate when I booked my july trip in february. I got a rate of 53 a night for 4 nights. She and the front desk clerk were very rude to me and they actually put an extra day on my reservation and charged me for it. The customer service at corporate is now aware of my situation and is taking care of it for me. The hotel needs newer towels and some happier people at the front desk. This location is not within walkling distance to the beach so dont let anyone tell you different. Stay at the courtyard if you can.

I love Carolina Beach but it needs a big clean up effort down there.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank george2269Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Home in WV,SC,TN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

When we arrived we had reserved a 2 beded room. We arrived at our room to discover that it was a king. They were glad to fix their mistake. There is a pond behind the hotel which is full of frogs that croaked all night, and hopped into the pool. The morning buffet was not very large, but was acceptable for the price paid for the room.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Pond with frogs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zachmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

The best thing this location had going for it turned her notice in while we visited. On arrival, although a room with two double beds was reserved for 4 people for 3 nights, we were assigned a room with one bed. We called down to the front desk, to let them know of the error only to get an arguement about what the reservation was for. Cornelia at the front desk said Anna booked us for 1 night in a single room. I told her Anna did not make my reservation, Sue did (who I found out happens to be the manager). I finally asked how 4 people were suppose to sleep in one bed and was unhappily assigned a room with 2 beds. The next evening when we returned to "our" room, our cards would not open the door. Again we returned to the front desk, and fortunately were able to talk to Sheryl who had been trying
to figure out who was in room 204 (our room). In their computer upon check-in we had been assigned, billed and checked out of room 205, but our card keys were for 204. While we were out for the day, our room had been rented and other guests had visited our room! Sheryl assured us they promptly returned to the desk informing the staff the
room was already occupied. Sheryl then put a block on any entry to the room until the occupants (us) could be identified. (We had been checked out of room 205 that day) Had it not been for Sheryl and her superb customer service skills, we would have left. The rest of the staff we encountered were not very friendly. On Microtel's behalf, the continental breakfast, especially the waffles were excellent. Rooms were very clean. The main thing Microtel needs to do, is have Sheryl lead a customer service training class for the rest of the staff. KUDOS to Sheryl, and good luck!

  • Liked — Continental Breakfast and pool
  • Disliked — Poor overall customer service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilltopMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed here last summer and were very happy! The room was clean, staff very polite. The continental breakfast was good and fresh. Pool clean. The price was VERY reasonable. Would happily stay here again!

  • Liked — Price! When compared with accomodations in area, price couldn't be beat!
  • Disliked — Have no complaints!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocknhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drifters Reef Hotel
Drifters Reef Hotel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Address: 907 Lake Park Blvd N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-4830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a clean and comfortable hotel with 59 beautifully-appointed rooms, the Microtel Inn in Carolina Beach, NC, goes the extra mile to provide modern conveniences to make your stay extra pleasant. Enjoy cable TV , refrigerators in most rooms, microwaves in our suites, work desk, phone with data port and complimentary high-speed Internet access.Choose from three types of comfortable accommodations-Single Room, Double Room or Suite. Enjoy our exceptional location that puts you just a 5 block walk from the beach, a short drive to historic downtown Wilmington, Wilmington International Airport and have the Fort Fisher Ferry nearby if you are going South. We are also located just an hour south of Camp Lejeune. Everything you need for your business trip or vacation with the luxury of being on Pleasure Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Carolina Beach
Microtel Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Microtel Carolina Beach
Microtel Hotel Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing