We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel with Amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel with Amazing Staff”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This is an excellent hotel by any standards. They have deffinately lived up to the Marriot name. We decided to extend our stay. They were booked up on the suite we were in, so they allowed us to stay in our suite until the regular room was ready for us to move in to. Every single member of the staff was courtious and corncered with how things were going. The regular room was very nice, but the Suite was outstanding. Pools (indoor and outdoor) were very nice. Access to the beach was fast and easy. This hotel is an absolute 'must see'! We will deffinately be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighFlyin82A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    275
    134
    68
    44
See reviews for
319
302
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I don't understand the previous reviewer's criticism. This is a very nice hotel, especially for the area. My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. It was just great. The staff was wonderful. I asked for a champagne ice bucket upon arrival and the front desk clerk was very helpful in obtaining one for me. There were a few things that went wrong. First, the sink was leaking/stopped up. The leak was stopped but the sink was still partially stopped up. The card-key lock on the door didn't work half the time and we had to chase down a maid to let us in our room. This was despite having the key cards changed by the front desk. Both of these were minor inconveniences, no big deal. It didn't spoil our weekend. The room otherwise was fine. Housekeeping staff was great too, and very accomodating. Great view, very comfortable, and clean. The parking area is small, but despite that, found a good parking spot for our new vehicle, and it came home undamaged. Cannot vouch for the food, we didn't eat there. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance. One problem was an issue on Saturday nite. There were some young people below us who insisted on smoking on their balcony, despite the fact that this is a non-smoking hotel. We called the front desk and they were told to stop and probably were fined $250 for smoking but they kept it up for the entire evening. This was most unpleasant, and we did not enjoy our balcony as much because of it. This being said, the front desk staff were most professional and helpful. They tried to correct it, but I realize this issue is very difficult to control when you have guests that blatantly ignore the rules and don't care if you fine them. And at checkout, I received a small room rate reduction for my inconvenience, which was very nice of them. All in all, I would recommend this hotel and I feel that it is a good value for a beach getaway/vacation. Nice pool area, and the hotel is convenient to everything you could want in the area. The beach is lovely too and was quite crowded for this time of year. We really enjoyed our stay and would return. Very family oriented hotel, and lots of families were staying there and seemed to be enjoying themselves too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ9790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lori_belletiere, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your patience pertaining to the maintenance and key issues. I will pass along your comments to all of our staff. We hope you come back and visit us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I thought this was gonna be a great tripFirst of all when we got there at 4pm our room wasnt ready. then the lady at the front desk kept tellin us that she was the Assistant MGR of this hotel and was repeating herself constantly it was annoying. when she finally gave me my key she calld me a heffer as i walkd away i was goin to addres her but i was already tired. then when i got to my room it was great i was help on by another manger she was great help us with our bags and got us extra linen and some bottled watershe was great thanks for her our stay ended up smoothly. I wanted to tell some one about his lady at the desk so she can be addressed for her rudeness so when i stayed at this other Marriott in Raleigh i found a number to call so hopefully the ppl that works ther or stayin there will be taken care by a real manager not thie same supposed to be AGM.. She was very non Manager material

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank speance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lori_belletiere, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
I appreciate your comments from your stay with us. This situation isn’t typical at our hotel and I sincerely apologize for the impression you have received. I personally want to thank you for your feedback and have addressed these concerns with my managers, front desk staff and housekeeping department. I passed along your kudos to my department manager for helping your out with your bags and getting extra linen for you. I also have included your comments in our continuous improvement committee. I apologize again and hope whenever your travel you continue to choose Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, NC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The hotel was recently renovated and the new decor is beautiful! All the rooms have an oceanfront balcony overlooking the outdoor pool. The outdoor pool area is very pretty. There is also an oceanfront boardwalk that starts infront of the hotel on the beach. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lori_belletiere, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Thank you for your great comments! Come and visit with us again very soon. Don't forget every Thursday night Memorial Day thru Labor Day is Fireworks on the beach! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Came to Carolina Beach for a 4 day vacation with the family. We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard Marriot. The lobby is clean and has a nice little library of picture books about Carolina Beach and NC. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was free and unremarkable. The indoor pool was nice (the outdoor pool looks to be quite nice as well but it was too cold to use in March). The beach is directly behind the hotel and there is a nice little deck that leads out to a vast strech of white sandy beach. The rooms all look out on the breaking waves and each has a little balcony. As has been mentioned the buidling is impossible to miss (it's giant compared to the surrounding buildings) but the little road that leads off the main street is easy to pass. There's a couple of nice restaurants across the street as well as a nice park very nearby. For a family trip it's got all the right pieces - and they are easliy accessible.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RioGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lori_belletiere, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Thank you for your time and comments! We are proud to be the only oceanfront Marriott in NC. We are excited about our new Wi-Fi lobby featuring our interactive Go Board. Come and visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Great place to stay! We had a wonderful time. It happened to be the time when the letherback sea turtles were hatching. It was very interesting and the hotel staff was very friendly. The view from our room was breath taking.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcbeth597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Requesting an early check-in is just that, a request. You are told that check-in is at 3pm, you should travel accordingly. We got checked in about 3:30, but enjoyed the lobby TV, and just relaxed. They are doing an upgrade on the property. Knew this at booking. Had no issue with noise.
People complain to complain. Some stretch the truth to make it seem worse than it was. Having been employeed by Marriott for 22 years, I have seen and heard it all. Marriott's are Quality Inspected twice a year. If they do not meet strict standards, they have 90 days to correct them.
It is the beach. People come to beach to have fun. If carnival noise keeps you awake, stay down the street. Some enjoy the games, the rides, and the food.
Honestly, I could care less that you have driven for 8 hours with 2 cranky kids, that's a parenting issue. You got lost? It's the tallest building on Carolina Beach. You can see it crossing the bridge.
As for upgrades, you cannot be upgraded if using Marriott Rewards Points. Just an FYI! The hotel does not owe you anything they cannot provide, such as upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmiller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
237 reviews
13.0 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Address: 100 Charlotte Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5119 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Courtyard Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Courtyard
Carolina Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing