We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very convenient location, we walked to most of our destinations. Ocean front view was unbeatable. The weather was cold and windy so it was very nice to be able to sit and look out the window at the beach. The room was unimpressive. Stained carpet and furnishings, musty smell. I booked the two queen beds room and found it to be to small. No microwave, just refrigerator, had to use microwave in the "commissary" by the front desk. This info was available but I overlooked it, suites had microwave. Since we were traveling with our 8 and 7 year old this made snacks and quick lunches inconvenient. I definitely would go with the suite. Since weather was chilly we took the kids to the indoor pool several times. There were issues with unsupervised kids acting in an unsafe manner. Constant jumping into the pool which made it extremely unsafe to walk on the tiled floor in a very small space. Some of the boys were throwing things at a group of girls. The girls went to the front desk and the manager came in told the boys they had to leave if their parents weren't watching them and then she left. The boys proceeded to get right back in the pool. We removed our children, I went to the front desk and indicated the boys had not left and were still causing problems. The woman on duty never answered or spoke to me, she just picked up the phone and told someone to go deal with the problem. Every pool visit there was some problem with unsupervised children. The property didn't seem like a Marriott, more like a typical "budget' motel. I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite, I suppose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hgm909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will L, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront. Let me apologize for the situation at the indoor pool and assure you that we will do a better job monitoring the pool area to ensure that all children have the proper parental supervision. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
RICHARD GRANT
Assistant General Manager
Courtyard Marriott Carolina Beach
richard.grant@crestlinehotels.com
910-458-2624

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 917 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two night Easter getaway with the family. Very friendly and efficient check-in. Rooms were spotless with a fabulous view of the beach and ocean. Only Starbucks in town on site which is a great bonus, especially when you have the best donuts ever (Britts) just two minutes walk away on the boardwalk.

The only downside is service in the bistro was a little slow one evening but overall a very nice hotel.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Dubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The staff and location of the hotel were quite good. This property has the market cornered when it comes to Carolina Beach...

Unfortunately, there were issues. Perhaps due to the time we were there (Spring Break), our stay was somewhat unimpressive due to the following:

- Noisy hotel
- Fraternity/Sorrority kids all over the place
- While loud Friday night, overall, they were fairly well behaved
- Wedding party also staying this weekend

- Elevators took FOREVER and werre quite inefficient
- Staying on a higher floor was quite frustrating
- The staff (maids, etc.) used the same elevators adding to the traffic/wait times
- Only two elevators for the entire property

- Ran out of toilet paper in our room
- Had to wait until 9a the following morning fot TP as front desk could not get us any
- Apparently, others had the same issue as there were several guests at the front desk aksing for TP the next morning.

As a frequent Marriott guest, I was not impressed with the property. Again, the location and staff were acceptable, but the property was lacking and, overall, we were rather disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will L, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront.

You indicated in your response that the hotel was noisy and the elevators were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
RICHARD GRANT
Assistant General Manager
Courtyard Marriott Carolina Beach
richard.grant@crestlinehotels.com
910-458-2624

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Courtyard by Marriott at Carolina Beach is a fairly standard Courtyard hotel, but the thing that makes this one exceptional is the staff and the location. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning and maintenance staff were attentive to our needs. The hotel is in the center of activities on Carolina Beach which allows for walking to most venues. And since the hotel is right on the beach, when you are not enjoying the ocean just open the sliding doors in your room to relax to the soothing sounds of ocean waves hitting the beach.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better, and make sure you set your alarm to take in the breathtaking sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyTravel4_2_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This message is in recognition of the staff at the Carolina Beach NC Marriott. My daughter's wedding reception took place on Sat April 5 and the customer service exceed my expectations.

I was extremely pleased with all the services! Brittni Drake has an impeccable "attention to detail". Brittni captured all the events that we requested, Brittni understood and carried out all our requests and was a pleasure to work with. She even helped me unloaded boxes from my car. She kept an eye on the weather and gave us hope for a beautiful event. The reception was completely set up the way we requested. The reception staff was attentive and pleasantly served us throughout the evening. The pitchers of water and tea were readily available. The food was exceptional. Please let the chef know that our guests raved on how delicious their meal was. The salad was fresh, the food was cooked perfectly and was displayed so nicely. The reception staff stayed busy all evening clearing dishes, bringing in more glassware. They worked really hard all evening! All of them had the most gracious manners.

I am so very pleased that we chose the Marriott for our special occasion. Your staff completely came through with GREAT SERVICE. Our guests had a great experience, everyone had a nice meal and enjoyed themselves.

I enjoyed the celebration because I didn't have to work or worry about anything, it was all done with extreme care and attention.

You should be very proud to have a staff that really cares about the customer, this was proven throughout our planning stage and during the event. I am extremely thankful. I hope you will recognize your staff for not only a job well done but for the enthusiasm and support they provide.

Sincerely, Linda Monroe, Mother of the Bride

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandrtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel has a great view of the ocean. Just open the bacony door and listen to the ocean waves.The staff was very friendly. Room was pleasant and clean. Only problem was that the room wasn't refreshed on our second day. Had to empty our own trash cans.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGinWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

They went above and beyond to make our stay special. When making the reservation it asks if this is for an event, I put daughters 8th birthday. When we returned from dinner they had placed cookies, milk, and two champagne flutes with a birthday card. My daughters were both so excited! Room was fantastic and clean. All staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The suite was great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monluc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
247 reviews
13.0 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach

Address: 100 Charlotte Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5119 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $104 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, SAS Ticati.COM, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Courtyard Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Courtyard
Carolina Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing