We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drifters Reef Hotel(Carolina Beach)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceaneer Motel(Carolina Beach)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Lodge(Carolina Beach)
$86
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drydock Motel(Carolina Beach)
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands(Carolina Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveler rating
384
287
141
75
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
384
287
141
75
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetstarbucks coffeeoutdoor poolcorner suiterooms face the oceanoff seasonocean viewan umbrellahigher floorking roomhousekeeping staffsliding doorstaff was very friendly and helpfulboard walkmini fridgebistrobalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 941 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

On two occasions I have stayed at the courtyard carolina beach while on working trips. I like the fact that all rooms have a ocean side view and during the off tourist season its not too crowded. During the winter months I was able to get some very reasonable rates which made it an enjoyable time even though I had a 40 mile trip to my work place and back. It can be very crowded and parking hard to find during the tourist season so I recommend making reservations a couple weeks in advance during summer. The food was not the best in the world but it was nice to get a hot breakfast that was not fast food every morning. I would say its one of the better choices to stay at carolina beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

But the cafe service is incredibly slow and understaffed. Only one person taking order at lunch time. Supper last night was good but waaaaay overpriced. $78 for two adult one child. Sandwiches at lunch are at least $10. Ugh. Nice outdoor pool. Clean rooms. Very dated tubs. No bugs, clean sheets, but mattress hard as a concrete slab. Would still come back given its tge best game around. Doesn't say much for the area. Marriott needs to put money into proper upgrades.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChefCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There was nothing ultimately BAD about this hotel but there's also nothing to justify the outrageous price of almost $300/ night! Our bathroom floor was filthy! I cleaned it as it took housekeeping almost until 4pm to get to us. Housekeeping was not consistent, some days they came at 10am and other days noon or 4pm. Made it hard to plan the day. There are also no in-room safes. Our room furniture was just okay, the balcony furniture was tiny and plastic and just didn't fit. The indoor pool was overrun as it was only a tiny pool made to accommodate a way too big hotel. The outdoor pool was larger but not large enough for the property. We would not have had beef about this if it wasn't for the fact that non-guests were using the hotel amenities - even the indoor pool and hot tub. Staff watched as this occurred. The hotel is in a good location and we were able to walk to a lot of area attractions during the day. Not so much at night.

Bottom line, for the price we will rent a condo or small house for the same amount of money. This place is way to overpriced for what it is...just as a point of reference, we had booked the North Beach Plantation in Myrtle Beach for this stay but were unable to make the drive. We would have paid $80 LESS a night there for a 1 bedroom OF condo. That's crazy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcba2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment we got there we felt taken care of. We arrived before the check in time and were given a house key to use the beach entrance and facilities along with a parking pass. Starbucks employees were great along with the hotel being super clean. I would definitely stay here again. All this on a busy Labor Day weekend. Great customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelG882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first stay at Carolina Beach, which is a funky, nostalgic, old-fashioned kind of beach town with lots of tacky Mom & Pop beach paraphenalia shops and pancake houses in a walkable area. It was difficult to find the street entrance to the hotel--it looked simple on the map, so I didn't bother asking directions, but only one small, inconspicuous side street gets you to the hotel, so be sure to ask. The rooms are big, clean, and have great all-glass views of the ocean. Beds are very firm but comfortable. The standard Marriott bistro is nicer than usual because it overlooks the ocean & you can take your food onto the patio overlooking the beach. The pool is an interesting shape and very clean. There is a neat boardwalk running along the front of the beach. So all good.

Would have appreciated more comfortable chairs on the balcony than the 2 plastic seats there, hint hint.

Depending on your point of view, the location of the local amusement park right next door to the hotel could be a good or a bad thing. Great if you have kids, you can just walk them next door for entertainment; bad if you are still trying to get to sleep at 2 am with the music blasting from the rides (yes, I looked at the clock). Closing the balcony door is pretty effective, but I could still hear the bass and the lyrics over the AC fan turned up high. I was really surprised the town did not have a noise ordinance to control the loudness and lateness of the music, but apparently not. Also, our room directly faced a boardwalk spotlight that shines into the hotel rooms on one side so it was unpleasant to sit on our balcony at night.

So as usual, there is good & bad. The hotel itself is clean and the rooms are big and have a great view, but the location of the hotel next to the amusement rides and the boardwalk spotlights shining in on one side are a problem. Once the rides shut down, however, this will be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the amusement park to avoid the spotlights and the noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalacticTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews