We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ocean view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Charlotte Avenue, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Berthoud
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing ocean view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was in the Carolina Beach area to visit family. The desk folks are very friendly and helpful and the lobby area is beautiful. The grounds are beautiful too. I enjoyed opening my door and seeing the awesome view of the ocean and falling asleep to the sound of the surf. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. However, I have to say my room wasn't super clean. The plastic shower curtain had mold and needed to be replaced, as did the fabric curtain, which had stains. The tub also needed a very good scrubbing. The mini-frig was a nice addition to the room, but mine acted more like a freezer and froze everything. There was no dial to make temperature adjustments. Every morning I had to fill my ice bucket with warm water to defrost my orange juice. There was also black mold spots on the wall above and behind the thick plastic curtain that hung over the sliding door facing the ocean. Overall, the room could benefit from a deep cleaning, but I have stayed in rooms in worse condition in past travels.

Since I was visiting family, I didn't rent a car. Caution - if you plan to take a cab to Wilmington, it is pricey. It cost me $35 one way to take a cab to dinner, which was a 30 minute ride.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COLOHUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Friendly staff and clean rooms. The view from the rooms and the direct access to the beach can't be beat. Its located within walking distance to some great restaurants ad shopping. We came off season so it wasn't very crowded.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank E r C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I came to this hotel for a 3 day meeting. I was so pleased with the hotel. It is clean and comfy. The rooms are big and every room has a balcony facing the beach. I've stayed at beach front hotels before and they were kind of "beachy" but this one could have been in the middle of the city because it was so clean. The pool looked great although it was too cold to use it. There are some very good restaurants within walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: You can hear the ding of the elevator even if your room isn't close. We were 4 room away. If t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexigirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Rest, SC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We finished the Bicycle Ride Across NC here. The rooms were large and comfortable. The view from the balconies and direct access to the beach was great. The bathroom was large and bed linens of very nice quality.
We were here in October and the off season/ bicycle ride rate was a very good value.
Did not use the spa or exercise room but they looked nice.

Room Tip: We were on the tenth floor and you could see for miles and miles. All rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent a week here the last week of Sept. '12. This was our 3rd trip to Carolina Beach and our 3 stay at the Courtyard. This trip was by far the best. The weather was superb and the hotel was as always excellent. We asked for a top floor and was given the top floor. All the rooms are ocean front. Our room was modern, clean and the beds (queen size) were just right, with an assortment of different pillows to choose. Places to eat were within walking distance and since it is on an island, vehicular traffic is to a minimum. The beach in front of the hotel is clean, with excellent sand. A perfect setting in a perfect place.

Room Tip: The higher up--the better--book on- line --then verify your reservation just before you leave with T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first trip to the area, and we are so glad we chose the Courtyard. All rooms look right out onto the beach and have a nice sized balcony. Coffee makers (single serve) in the room, but free coffee 24/7 in the lobby. Mini-fridge in room as well. Room 502 had a corner jacuzzi tub right by the bed (!)....not all rooms have this, as our in-laws had just a regular tub in the Bath. The room was clean, the housekeeping was right-on, and the staff were so very friendly! A small bar in the lobby is convenient, and the outdoor pool is lovely and quite large. There is also an indoor pool as well as a nice fitness room. Walk right out the doors from the main hotel to the Boardwalk and onto the beach. So nice!! Would definitely recommend this establishment, as it is also close to several restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 502 has a corner jacuzzi tub! Only drawback is when
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vbailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

On the water, balconies, pool, exercise room, hot tub, sitting area, direct access to beach. Rooms were nice, clean, comfortable. Price was high but on the water. Free coffee in lobby tucked behind wall so ended up paying for morning coffee at the restaurant in lobby. Nicely maintained, walked to restaurants. A definite would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JDCanadaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 18 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 18 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#11 of 18 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach

Address: 100 Charlotte Avenue, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Courtyard Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Courtyard
Carolina Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing