We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Excellent Mexican in NC”

El Cazador Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Cazador is a family-restaurant serving quality Mexican cuisine. At El Cazador, we pride ourselves on an incredible menu made from fresh ingredients and fast, friendly service. We make sure to buy the best, quality ingredients to prepare delicious tasting dishes.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Excellent Mexican in NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This restaurant was close to our hotel, so we walked over and had an absolutely wonderful meal. Their menu is very extensive, and not just the normal tacos and enchiladas. I had Chili Verde - delicious (and lots of it!). One table mate had Carnitas, which he said were delicious. His wife ordered steak quesadillas, but they were not your traditional style quesadillas, though she said they were good. There was plenty of food on each plate, and the margaritas were huge (though not very strong, tequila-wise). The place was clean and large, and our waitress was pleasant and very attentive. We sat outside on the upper terrace and it was most pleasant. This is the best Mexican food I've had on the East Coast, bar none!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vbailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    66
    33
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I had a craving for Mexican food while on vacation at Carolina Beach. This was the only Mexican Restaurant listed so we visited. The food was awesome and server was excellent. Prices were reasonable. Decor could be updated and the place probably needed a thorough cleaning. But if you want good Mexican, this is the place to go!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

and plenty of it. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and people-watching the street below. Would definitely go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank j2dor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

i loved el zarape, but the restaurant is still good and we all love going there. the newest best thing is the amount of salsa you get with the complementary chips, and also the amount of staff they have added makes service a lot better

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ash_1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Ate here for lunch one day while staying at the Marriott close by. Service was very good and the semi-outside deck upstairs offered a nice atmosphere. Food was very good - the Asada tacos were genuine Mexican, not American want-a-bees - and with 3 tacos plus rice and beans offered a very large (too large for my wife). Sweet tea was great.
We would go back again and again if we lived around here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cazador Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to El Cazador Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing