We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A & G Barbecue & Chicken

A & G Barbecue & Chicken
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great little burger place, a little on the pricey side, but everything on the island is that way. Take out is awesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wherever we are
Level Contributor
69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you like dry chicken and NO BBQ, this is for you!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went for some BBQ chicken they didn't have any but had some ribs from yesterday. I asked why and got a shrug. Gave up ordered some fried chicken after asking if it was fresh. I also ordered some hush puppies and coleslaw. The hush puppies looked like dried dog turds. The chicken was dry and old. The coleslaw was good and that is the only good thing about this place. I suppose that was why the parking lot was empty every time we went by. I wouldn't recommend this to an enemy much less a friend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisville
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We drove up from Myrtle just to eat here....again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This a gem at the beach. The food is GREAT.....the staff is friendly....and the prices are most reasonable. We had eaten here before when we stay at Kure Beach but we drove up with friends on our honeymoon from Myrtle Beach just to let them enjoy the food. The Brunswick Stew is worth the drive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pr8head1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Food, Great Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food is great and this place is always busy. The prices are great too. I have never been dissatisfied at this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good BBQ, Get takeout!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We had the BBQ sandwiches and it wasn't your traditional BBQ. It had a tangy vinegar taste. Great coleslaw! Inside is clean, but drab in a quaint hole in the wall way

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peaches149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A & G Barbecue & Chicken also viewed

 

Been to A & G Barbecue & Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing