We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family-style place - and good barbecue!”

A & G Barbecue & Chicken
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly family-style place - and good barbecue!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was actually headed to another restaurant when the thought of barbecue sounded good - and since I'd seen a full parking lot the night before, I decided to take a chance. I was pleasantly surprised - I had a very good plate of pulled pork barbecue with fresh coleslaw, with a special mention to A&G's Carolina-style vinegar-based barbecue sauce (they even sell it on-site!) Most of the people who were there for lunch were locals - which I always take as a good sign. If you're looking for a quick, satisfying meal of classic Carolina barbeque, this is a good lunch stop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NvillePublicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am a huge fan of the fried chicken (haven't eaten anything else here, so can't comment on that) staff is very friendly and I enjoy visiting. Not a fancy place what so ever, just good ole down home food and atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wncmtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not really...very good”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Staff was nice and kept drinks full. We had bbq sandwiches and fried whiting. Bbq was small and no smoky taste. Fish was over cooked and greasey. It tastes what it lookes like from the outside. Try something else if possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kickstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome, consistently tasty food, great value!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We've been going to A&G for years and they're consistently wonderful. Friendly servers, hot homemade food and the best Carolina BBQ around. Amazing onion rings and hush puppies! Always clean inside and generous portions for the platters.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for quick, home cooked meal”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Tiny dining room, so get it at the take-out window and back to your place. Excellent fried chicken, bbq, and typical southern style fare. Prices are reasonable. Lots of locals frequent the place. They are closed on Mondays, but open year-round which helps us out! Will be a repeat customer!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank alisluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A & G Barbecue & Chicken also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to A & G Barbecue & Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing