We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Crab Legs”
Review of Shuckin Shack

Shuckin Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Crab Legs”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the steamed sampler, with shrimp, crab legs and mussels. Everything was delicious! All our friends enjoyed they dinners as well. Beware though, this is set up like a bar, so seating can be tricky. Still worth it though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    143
    49
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEST seafood in Carolina Beach”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

After a long day at the beach, this was exactly what we wanted. We opted for a couple of the pick-3 options-crab legs, shrimp and mussels, and an order of the surf and turf which included wings and oysters. Flavor was great! Everything was super fresh, and service was amazing.The only downside is size. The restaurant is small and tables are tiny. With a party of four, our dishes were nearly on top of each other. Luckily, servers/bar staff come by frequently to help get rid of shells and empty plates and buckets.

In the end, I'd highly recommend Shuckin Shack! We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mapsandstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvanica
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood on the island!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We ate somewhere else the night before and wish we hadn't! We ordered the crab claws, steamed clams and raw oysters with french fries as a side. Granted, the menu is limited but if this is what you want to eat, the price is in line with the cost of seafood. We will definitely go back next time we are at Kure Beach!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4boysPennsylvanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun & Crowded Local Bar / Restaurant; Experience Local NC Seafood”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This small restaurant/bar is centrally located on the main drag in Carolina Beach, one block from the Courtyard Hotel. The most telling sign when you walk into this crowded little place is that it is full of locals who know their seafood. The atmosphere is very friendly, and the staff working hard all evening. The two bartenders were very friendly and professional. My wife and I sat at the bar and met an entire family of locals that raved about the fantastic seafood, and reasonable prices. So, we ordered a dozen raw oysters, and they were terrific and we accompanied them with "bottle caps", which are deep fried jalapenos; a real treat. Then we topped off our dining experience with a fresh lobster. The lobster dish was terrific, and relatively inexpensive; $14. This is a very good restaurant that mostly caters to adults. All of the seating is at 4 tops or at the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurdueGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food, good service.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to Shuckin' Shack for the third time and they did not have some things on t menu this time, disappointing, so we settled for somethig else, good quality food, tiny dingy space, excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckin Shack also viewed

 

Been to Shuckin Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing