We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shrimp and Oysters”
Review of Shuckin Shack

Shuckin Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
North Carlolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp and Oysters”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Got to love this place. The boiled shrimp and steamed oysters are just plain good. If you love that and lot's of beer you have come to the right place.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank DutchFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    130
    44
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Freshest Seafood on Pleasure Island”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Our entire family loves this funky locals hangout on Lake Park Blvd. in Carolina Beach. OK, so it's something of a dive and the overworked bartenders can be a little surly sometimes but who cares when the seafood is FANTASTIC! We enjoyed steamed oysters, shrimp, crab legs. Also hot wings (declared "delicious") and cold beverages. The food here is so good that we took a pound and a half of shrimp home with us, and then returned for another meal there two days later. If you want a white table cloth restaurant, PLEASE don't go to Shuckin' Shack (and then write a crabby review on TripAdvisor). But if you like fresh, delicious seafood and hanging out with the locals then this is the place for you. And the "pier" painted on the floor on your way to the restrooms is hilarious!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centerburg, ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great steamed seafood in local friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We sat at the bar and got a steamed combo of oysters, crab claws and shrimp. Just a hint of tang in the boil. Oysters were gooooood. We also ordered hush puppies and deep fried dill pickles. Busy and the barmaid/waitress hustled and handled it well. Local, friendly atmosphere as we were there during off season. Located on the "main drag" in Carolina Beach, one block from the ocean along side a couple of other bars. Very friendly people. Would go again!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chippsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“so, good we went again the next night!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I had dinner at the Shuckin Shack two nights in a row. Both nights it was a little crowded and we had a beverage while waiting for a table. There's no hostess, so you need to respect the order in which you arrived to prcure a table. The wait wasn't that long, maybe 20 mintues. We ordered a delicious steam basket with crab legs, oysters, clams, corn, shrimp and coleslaw. We shared this between 4 people and then ordered another half pound of shrimp and some wings for "dessert". Everything was great, but the oysters, shrimp and wings were truly outstanding. The next night we stuck to shrimp oysters and wings. Our original plan was to cook seafood and thome, but we decided that it would be hard to beat the meal we had the night before , thus we hit the shuckin shack a second time. I have eaten there several times in the past and have always had a good meal there. It has limited seating and aside fromthe bar the largest table could accomodate 5 or 6, so not a great place for a large group.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elkcerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckin Shack also viewed

 

Been to Shuckin Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing