We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy; great food, low wallet damage!”

Surf House Oyster Bar & Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Online menu through review websites may not reflect current menu. Please visit official restaurant website to see up to date menus.
Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy; great food, low wallet damage!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

What a great find; breakfast on Saturday was great & priced from $3-$7. Had to try lunch , such a great menu it was hard to decide. I had the Mahi on ciabatta with a side for only $8.50 and companion had the brisket for $8. Range of prices about $5-$8.50 I am told they serve Tues thru Sat. lunch and dinner with a brunch on Sunday. If I lived closer it would be my regular stop. Again; what a find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    54
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Efland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Mom had NC Rainbow Trout- pan-seared with diced potatoes and rutabaga- excellent. I had the shrimp and grits-cake, which was spicy and delicious! Definitely would visit this establishment again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Wife had the shrimp and grits and I ordered pecan crusted catfish. Both were very tasty and definitely were homemade, in a good way. IMO, the catfish, which came served on a bed of greens and a square of grits, seemed a little on the smaller side, but it was a fair portion and quite good. Shrimp And grits had a little spice to it as well as some fresh chopped veggies. Dessert was pecan pie which was also good - supposedly it was chocolate pecan pie, but I didn't notice any chocolate notes - it didn't matter to me because the pie was delicious and the crust was fresh. I was ordering for the pecans; not the chocolate.

Seating is limited so go early. Atmosphere was "beach bum chic".

Menu requests that if you have a child that is loud / crying to take them outside since the restaurant is intimate and it might be disruptive to others. We brought two young ones ourselves and saw lots of other kids there (530-700pm). They also have plenty of child friendly options on the menu (ours both got PB&J). Waitstaff was attentive to kids needs.

Helpful?
1 Thank LocalRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Physically unimpressive outside with a typical beach/surfer hangout feel inside. But what a fantastic surprise the food was. Fresh, clean tasting food from local vendors. Very unique and appetizing menu. We had a variety of entrees and desserts, all excellent. If you are visiting Carolina Beach and want an informal great dining experience, you cannot beat this restaurant.
Don't fall for a typical tourist restaurant somewhere else, this is a locals hangout.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I were visiting the beach and looking for a place with quality food but which also wouldn't be too overstimulating for our young kids. This place was fantastic! Good culinary flair to southern and coastal cuisine. Along with tastefully simple decor and friendly staff. I got the shrimp and grits and my wife got the pecan crusted catfish and both were wonderful. They had a unique cocktail list as well, all of which sounded excellent. We will definitely be back here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf House Oyster Bar & Surf Camp also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Surf House Oyster Bar & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing