We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Under-Visited Gem-Best on the Island”
Review of Ida Thai Cuisine

Ida Thai Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
camellia10
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An Under-Visited Gem-Best on the Island”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I went to Ida Thai after an article in our local paper ran last week. We went for Friday night dinner and it was excellent.

This is a place we'd driven by for years saying "I wonder if that is any good?" The building isn't glitzy like other places on the beach, but this definitely fills the bill of "divey gem." It is very clean on the inside. The service was super prompt and very friendly, but most of all, the food was EXCELLENT!

We had Thom Yum soup, Fresh Rolls, Chicken Satay, Spicy Basil Noodles, and Massaman curry. Everything was top notch.

I've eaten at plenty of restaurants on Carolina Beach and Kure Beach, but this has to be the best I've been to, in terms of food and service. No, there's no view, but if you want actual good food for your money, as opposed to just a view, go here.

Go here anyway!

It's a tremendous value, friendly, and oh so yummy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camellia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    63
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All Around Great Experience. Excellent Flavors!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had Massaman Curry, Spicy Basil and Fried Rice. Each was wonderfully flavored and had an excellent balance of ingredients. The service was very pleasant and attentive. A great dining experience all around.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacaroniDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best Thai I have ever had!!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our neighbor recommended Ida Thai. It is in a small house in Carolina Beach. The food was extremely fresh and amazing. We had three fabulous appetizers and our meals were fantastic. The Pad Thai was the best I have ever had. I highly recommend trying Ida Thai. We will definately return!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbrkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great take out”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have ordered take out from Ida's twice now, and I recommend it. The snow crab fried rice is unique and quite good, and their panang curry and tom kha soup are excellent. Fast service. Only downside is that they only provide sporks with take out, and that doesn't work well with soup.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susankmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I was delighted to find their food every bit as good as a big city Thai restaurant. The seating is nonexistent so you'll want to get take out. But if you're tired of Calabash style seafood, this is an excellent alternative.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2lilBarnacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ida Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ida Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing