We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in Carolina Beach”

Kate's Pancake House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast in Carolina Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Kate's was an overwhelming favorite during our visit. Don't let the line outside scare you away. It went quickly each time and the food is well worth the wait. Once seated our order was taken quickly and food delivered even quicker. The pumpkin bread french toast, banana pancakes and potato chip sliced hash browns (so yummy) were among our favorites. We will be back many times over.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    179
    59
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best on Pleasure Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great value in homemade breakfast. Great choices in pancakes. Great management...friendly staff. Visit often!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very good, pleasant servers and management!!! We will be back for our next convention!!! Very busy but very good!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Get There Early and Share the Plate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is open from March to October, I think. It gets crowded early, but there's lots of room. The food really is good, and I love the different pancake offerings. It's a quaint little, home-cooking breakfast place that you've got to try at least once. Beats the pants off of IHOP, if you ask me! Right in downtown Carolina Beach on the main drag!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravlinFool336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We always eat at Kate's on our last day of vacation. The kids truly enjoy the variety of pancakes and there is a gluten free option for our Son. Tried the Crab Benedict this time. It was a hit!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank teapots_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Kate's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing