We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“False advertisement” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifters Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drifters Reef Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Randleman,North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“False advertisement”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Was told a rate of $59 per night, 3 months in advance of arrivial. When we checked in the rate changed to $98 per night. Was told there was nothing they could do, we were promised one rate but had to pay the new rate or go elsewhere. Very rude people in office, nasty rooms. The resturant great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    18
    10
    40
See reviews for
37
36
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Reasonable room, reasonable rates. Bed was comfy, mattress firm, no smoke smell in room...no bugs. Folks were nice, pool was clean, room, toilet, bathroom clean.... Air worked FANTASTIC. No noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpyrdnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

There are to many pickly people in this world. We did not have any problems with anything. We stayed in the middle of July 2012 and our room was clean and service from staff was great they were very helpful. We also had our minpin with us and she was greeted very nicley. The Drifters Reef is also in the middle of upgrading. Don't be so cruel they are getting there!
Come on People if you want the Hyatt then spend the money for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Fowlers from Hillsborough NC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you want piece and quiet this may not be place but u r also at beach so people like to party. You can walk to beach but probably a mile a way. Good place though where you can walk to restaurants, surf shops and other fun shopping, especially discount surf clothing. Generally comfortable room and beds. Could hear people above walking around and next door is a sports bar that may have some music outside Our room was right across so we heard it a little. For lunch the standard under 10 dollar lunch that is really great is at the Surf House. Their sandwiches and fish tacos are wonderful. Always eat there. Do not eat at sports bar next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had such an awful experience here, the Room stated no smoking- as soon as I walked in could smell it. I checked for bedbug and did not see any but the floor behind the bed was covered with dead bugs and pet hair. I did not sleep the entire night because I was sneezing and coughing all night - what a waste of $135-never stay here you have been warned!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EileenHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for Memorial Day weekend. It was a 2 night minimum, which was a load of crap. The room was LITERALLY a tiny bed, dresser, old TV, and bathroom. NO bedside tables, NO alarm clock, NO phone. ONLY one small wall lamp worked so it was dark. Had a window unit AC (which was MOLDED, and made a terrible noise) and a plug in space heater.
The shower barely worked. I had to lay in the tub to even wash my hair! It was like taking a shower in a distant sprinkler. Screw this place. Only good thing was the fact is was clean and a place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberBee_OG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We went to Carolina Beach on the recommendation of a friend, did not make reservations as we wanted to check all the Hotels out prior to staying. We stopped at this Hotel the front desk let us look at the room first, did not even ask him to see it first. We checked out 2 rooms and chose the one where we could park in handicap right outside our door. The room was clean, refrigerator and microwave in the room, no alarm clock but we weren't on a time schedule and had our cell phones, no coffee maker, we went across the street to the gas station, next time we will take one with us. Nice pillows, we asked for more as we my friend needs to be propped up at night to sleep, the front desk clerk gave us more. I would recommend telling people where the ice machine is as I had to bother the front desk again by calling and asking where it was located.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Hotel

Property: Drifters Reef Hotel
Address: 701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifter's Reef Hotel is located in the heart of Carolina Beach, North Carolina and offers you great accommodations at a reasonable price. We offer microwaves, mini frigs, air conditioning, cable, free Wi-Fi, large outdoor pool, charcoal grills, volleyball courts, laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar. The Lazy Pirate is our famous award winning restaurant boasting legendary wings and crab shack! All quests will receive a 10% discount on food purchases! Carolina Beach's charter fishing fleet, top of the line cruise boats, excellent shopping at the Carolina Beach Boardwalk, fine restaurants and our beautiful beaches are all within a few short blocks and easy walking distance. Drifter's Reef Hotel has 57 rooms consisting of King rooms, Double rooms, Double Deluxe, Double Suites and a 2 Bedroom Full Apartment. We hope you will choose Drifter's Reef Hotel for your next vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Drifters Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing