We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat in Canton.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sid's on Main - CLOSED

Sid's on Main
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Dining Experience in Canton. Located in what used to be the Historic Imperial Hotel, this restaurant has something for everyone. Enjoy private tables scattered throughout the former hotel lobby for romantic upscale dining or our family friendly dining room. Beautiful Lounge offers hand crafted cocktails and additional dining opportunities. Foodies and Familys alike will be amazed at the care that goes into every menu item. Fresh ingredients and homeade recipes make Sid's menu shine.
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Canton.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Finally, a really nice restaurant in Canton. Sid has been a chef and restaurant manager for years and he is back home now. Great selection and wonderful food. We've been several times and it's been very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“So incredibly RUDE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have never been more uncomfortable in my life. It states that this place is family friendly however we were treated like we were totally unwelcome when dining with our very well mannered almost 2 year old. The hostess said NOTHING to us when we walked in the door, just stared at us! The waitress stood with her book open waiting on us to tell out order impatiently tapping her foot...may I also add we were the ONLY customers in the entire place! Previous visits to this restaurant have been the EXACT same and we have been disrespected and felt unwelcome each time. We come back unfortunately because the food is actually decent. I have never experienced people like this in any other establishment in Canton, we've learned our lesson and we will NOT be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbclark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch After Shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

After a long day in Asheville shopping, we enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Sids. The bar area is inviting and Jerry the bartender is very attentive. We ordered the shrimp appetizer, the alfredo and chicken salad. What a nice, tasty, and fulfilling lunch. We've been here many times and are NEVER disappointed. What a pleasant surprise of a dining venue so close to home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank serenity2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good But.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really good atmosphere, just love the renovations that have been done to this wonderful building. Liked seeing that the original workmanship was still there!!! Service was really good and everyone pleasant and friendly. We had the meatloaf and fried chicken. The fried chicken was really good as well as the mashed potato's (liked having the skin's mixed in) yummy. The meatloaf was a bit disappointing, I didn't experience much flavor with the meatloaf and the marinara sauce dominated the dish. The biscuits were good and something that would have made them even better would have possiby been an addition of butter or maybe a local honey or preserve to spread on them. Also, I was hoping to see more information about the hotel either on the menu or at the table that gave some historic information about Imperial Hotel, it would have been an enjoyable read. Our overall experience was good and we possibly will be back to try something else. Hey, might even see some of the suggestions in place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Gluten Free options!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good food at reasonable prices, beautiful setting in a restored hotel. Nothing too fancy and unlike a previous reviewer I found the menu to be very All American rather than strange. We were a party of 12 and service was good as well. Highlights were the homemade Buffalo Chips app and many simply cooked vegetable sides that were full of flavor and not over done! Also, Sid (owner) and his wife Paige are very congenial and care about their customers. They have gluten free bread and buns available as Paige is GF and can tell you what on the menu is GF. I had a Ruben on GF bread which was chock full of good corned beef and kraut, just like I like it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a_BlueRidge_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sid's on Main also viewed

Canton, North Carolina Mountains
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
Canton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing