We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty, Nasty, Nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Asheville West
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nasty, Nasty, Nasty”
Reviewed August 6, 2006

My husband and I have stayed at a lot of hotels during our travels. This was by far the worst yet! When we walked in the front door to claim our reservations, friends of the staff were walking around drinking beer and partying (IN THE LOBBY). The room was disgustingly nasty. The toilet did not work and the water pressure was so bad, we couldn't even take a shower. Thank God we only had reservations for one night. All I can say is the Days Inn Headquarters should really check out this hotel....IT'S GIVING DAYS INN A BAD NAME. It was NASTY, NASTY, NASTY! We will NEVER stay here again and will discourage all our friends and co-workers from staying here. All I can say is STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Unhappy Campers!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Nastiness
  • Tips/Secrets — Be Ware!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n2kamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 21, 2017
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will strive to become better and we hope you will give us a chance again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    216
    179
    114
    110
See reviews for
299
247
76
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2006

Ive stayed at maybe 150 hotels in my life, This was the 2nd worst ever. I often stay at modest priiced hotels so I am by no means a hotel snob.

Brown (dark brown) water came out of the shower and sink!!! Called front desk and they said they had just had some plumbing repairs and to run it for a while. SORRY...NOT ACCEPTABLE. (we actually took pictures of this) I was not brushing my teeth or showering with that. Shower was all coroded, hiir in the bed, the bed saw sagging in the center, Paint all over the carpet. The balcony had structural problems and was sagging dangerously. Front desk was rude. The reviews on yahoo say it has a nice view and was nice. WRITTEN BY MANAGERS I ASSUME. Its next to the highway and looks over a flea market. If it werent pre-paid and wasnt 12:00am when I got in I would have walked right out. I have a complaint filed with Days Inn corprte.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. Corrective measures will be taken and we hope you will give us a chance in the near future to give you a better experience

Sincerely,

Richard Liebeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candler hotels

Acton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2006

The bed was broken, the second flood walkway outside the rooms is at an angle and feels like it could collapse anytime. The ice machine didn't work right, the stairs were rusty , but painted over and looked unsafe, there was a strange odor in the room, and in the morning, there was no water. Couldn't brush my teeth, take a shower, or make my coffee. No wonder the rates were low, they don't have to pay the staff to do anything but remake the beds. If you're not concerned about quality, this is the place for you. On the other side, the breakfast was decent, but the sausage gravy needed some more sausage, and was runny.

Helpful?
2 Thank jamesr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your experience will help us to become a better hotel. Corrective action will be taken.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2005

Using the Roomsavers coupons, we stayed for $30 a night. We did not get up in time for the lil breakfast but we did have the free dinner, which was a gumbo with beans. It was a bit pot and was more like soup, but cannot complain in that it was free. They also had free coffee.

The motel has changed owners 3 times since the front desk person had been there. I bet it is difficult to get business way out in the country like that. I liked it way out there. It was beautiful!

A flea market was right across the street. The homes around that area do not look to be the wealthiest, but the people were friendly. We visited downtown Asheville and Biltmore. That hotel was great to relax and get away from the crowds---very quiet stay.

My husband REFUSES to stay at a Days Inn, except he did this time. Now he's considering that hotel chain again as a result of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will share them with my entire staff

Sincerely,

Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2004

The check in clerk wasn't real nice. The "deluxe continental breakfast" that was advertised consisted of coffee, juice, doughnuts, & toast only. The room was adequate but not real clean. You have to drive to the lobby where the continental breakfast is from your room since the rooms are up on a hill and the lobby is at the bottom of it. We found used towels behind the bathroom door when we checked in.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 20, 2017
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We know you have multiple choices when choosing lodging and we will take your comments very seriously and the correct actions will be taken.

Sincerely,

Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#39 of 66 in Asheville
544 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#49 of 66 in Asheville
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
937 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Property: Days Inn Asheville West
Address: 2551 Smokey Park Hwy, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715-9304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation. Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Tour the historic Biltmore Estate, an 8,000-acre estate featuring a 250-room chateau, or take a scenic drive through the mountains on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy unique views on a hot-air balloon ride or explore the streets of historic downtown Asheville. The nearby North Carolina Arboretum is a great place for a peaceful walk, and Wolf Laurel Ski Resort offers great downhill skiing terrain during the winter. For additional outdoor activities, head into Great Smoky Mountains National Park, not far from our Candler, NC, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing