We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Asheville West
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Brighton, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here because it was about the only hotel available. We did not know it was peak season here. We paid $144 for a very small room. It was nice enough. Not worth the money but it was was a nice safe place for my daughter and I to sleep. Breakfast was good. They did not take any discounts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catquilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
October is a peak tourist season in the Asheville area and hotel rates and occupancy are especially high on October weekends as I'm sure you discovered by calling various hotels. You may also have found that our rates were lower than most other hotels in the area and I am pleased to know that despite the high rates, you still found us to be nice and safe and enjoyed breakfast. Thank you for reviewing your stay because it will help future guests be aware of the higher October rates and better assist them in planning their visit to the Asheville area. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    205
    166
    105
    102
See reviews for
281
232
73
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our 3rd or 4th time staying at Days Inn West Candler. We were disappointed to hear Donna is no longer working there. Too bad, because she made the place. Without her, the quality of service has gone way downhill. With the exception of Doug, he is awesome too, and the only familiar face from previous years. Seems to be a new staff in place who don't care half as much. For instance - the new lady working the breakfast - you couldn't get a smile or greeting out of her. One morning it was pretty quiet when I showed for breakfast at around 8:30. I went to get eggs and there were only 2 left, so I scraped them from the bottom off the aluminum and took them. Five minutes later a gentleman comes in and opens the tray and of course finds it empty. So he politely asked the woman attendant, "Are there any more eggs?" Her reply shocked the heck out of me. She said, "If you don't see any in there, then no". I'm not kidding, and neither was she! Unbelievable. Then after breakfast I had a simple question to ask the woman at the front desk. She didn't know the answer and tried to blow me off. Again, the place was not busy at this time. I had to twist her arm to get her to google something for me real quick on the computer right in front of her. This is a place that desperately needs good customer service to keep it going. It's not gonna make it on the strength of their dirty rooms and noisy guests. This place suited our needs and we liked it well enough to return a couple times. But after this last visit a future stay is questionable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I am surprised to read your comments since we receive a lot of compliments on our excellent customer service and have a very friendly and professional front desk staff and a very hard-working dining room attendant who cooks the most delicious suppers. I am sorry to hear you did not experience this, but thank you for acknowledging Doug. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dont let the advertised "hi speed Internet" fool you. It's not hi speed or even any speed at that matter. It just doesn't work.
The breakfast wasn't worth the visit downstairs. They over charged for what you actually get and offered NO discounts for active duty Military. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Darrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#38 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
6.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#47 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
16.8 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Property: Days Inn Asheville West
Address: 2551 Smoky Park Hwy, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715-9304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at the award-winning Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation.Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing