We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay--charged for room anyway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Asheville West
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
SAND ROCK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not stay--charged for room anyway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Called hotel at approximately 11:00 AM--4 hours before check in to say we had decided to drive home rather than spend the night. Was very rudely informed that cancelling the room was not an option. We have cancelled rooms before with many other hotels and never had a problem as long as it was done before 6 PM on day of arrival--not good enough for Days Inn. Cost me $125.00 even though I never stayed and I am sure they rented the room to someone else. Will never consider booking at another Day's Inn or affiliate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank raweiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I am sorry to hear you did not stay with us. Based on your review, it appears you had a reservation for an October weekend and due to high occupancy and demand on October weekends, your reservation had a 24h cancellation deadline, while on non sell out nights, we have a 4p cancellation deadline. It is very important to read the cancellation deadline on your reservation to avoid being charged as a 'No Show", which is standard hotel policy. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will have another chance to visit us. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    200
    161
    102
    99
See reviews for
273
227
70
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Close enough to downtown Asheville with easy access, but nestled in the outskirts. Conveniently located to hot air balloon meeting location. Comfortable, clean rooms. We will definitely return here.

The Thorpe's (and our dog Taffy was happy too!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you Thorpes for reviewing your stay at the Days Inn Asheville West. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us, courtesy of our friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and convenient location. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you and Taffy again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and reasonable place to stay in the Blue Ridge Mountains not far from I 40, this is it! The staff couldn't be friendlier and breakfast was included. They even had supper for you, too. Can't beat the value for the price. Clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on top side open up onto a lawn area with games.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for the kind words about the Days Inn Asheville West. We take pride in offering the best value in the Asheville area with friendly service, clean accomodations, convenient location and 2 free meals at great prices. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALKERTOWN
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff was too small to handle our stopped up toilet so we had to take care of it ourselves every time we flushed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank gellis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on the special occasion of your son's wedding. I am sorry to hear you had a problem that we did not resolve during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will do our best to serve you better next time. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#38 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
6.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#47 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
16.8 mi away
Days Inn Biltmore East
Days Inn Biltmore East
#31 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Property: Days Inn Asheville West
Address: 2551 Smoky Park Hwy, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715-9304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at the award-winning Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation.Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing