We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Asheville West
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel experience was terrific. After our check in, the front desk contacts us making sure the room met our expectations. Staff was courteous and always trying to help with any of our needs. We toured several scenic routes each day and at the end we were greeted by "Donna" and her fantasic smile inquiring about our day and if we were ready for a home cooked meal. What a gem of a lady. The first night we had homemade soup, the next night chili. Breakfast was great with hot sausage and gravey with all the other trimmings. This is our third trip to this hotel and would not consider any other if we are in the area. Our hats off to Days Inn Asheville West.

Room Tip: 126,132 and 336 were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and for being a repeat guest. At the Days Inn Asheville West, we go above and beyond to make sure your stay with us is enjoyable. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and supper and the beautiful scenery we are blessed to be surrounded by. Thank you too for acknowledging Donna's hospitality and our friendly staff looks forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 826 reviews

A Wyndham traveler
BEAVERCREEK
1
Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I wanted to like this place because of the good reviews/ratings. I guess the main benefit I can see to staying at this hotel is if you are taking a balloon ride out of Candler. The hotel was several minutes away from our early morning meeting place prior to the balloon ride, so that made the stay worth it for us. (Location-wise, it is a long way from downtown Asheville). I would not stay here if I was visiting Asheville as a tourist. Coupons and discounts can make the rooms reasonable, but it's basically an old Holiday-Inn style motel. Rates on the web site vary from $49.00/weekdays to $99.00/weekends during peak leaf season. I'd say it's worth $49 a night, but definitely not $99.00.

The room was relatively clean; the bathroom and general appearance was fine. There was a nice sized refrigerator, a small microwave and mini coffee maker. Iron, ironing board, hair dryer and shampoo/conditioner provided. However, the carpet was quite worn, there was a dead cricket smashed on the floor between the beds, and there was a cobweb stretching all the way from my lamp to the ceiling. (Not huge issues, but I noticed them.)

Things I DID have issues with: the tv picture color was greenish-yellow despite trying to adjust the color levels. The headboard of the bed was loose and smacked the wall all night long. The mattress felt either old or extremely soft, resulting in a nasty back pain the next morning. I found a printable coupon for the expensive restaurant we were going to, but the front office provided no printer for guests and would not print the coupon for me. (I would have paid for a sheet of paper, but wasn't given the option.)

In general, the location was convenient for us, but poor sleeping didn't really make it justifiable. I think this is a marginal "average" rating, I could rate it a high "poor" as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpunkyPrimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your stay with us. We have had a lot of guests this month taking the hot air balloon rides over the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains and we happen to be the closest hotel (only 5 miles) from the ride. I am sorry to read that your room was less than satisfactory and I am surprised to hear that you were told you could not print your coupon at our front desk. We do offer these complimentary facilities and I apologize that you were told differently. Please know that your feedback is valuable to us and we will use it to improve our property on a daily basis. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank 599RAHUL_S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first visit to Days Inn West in Candler. First and foremost we were impressed with the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. We arrived at about 6:45 p.m. and were told that a dinner of vegetable beef soup was being served in the dining room and were reminded that it was complimentary. We didn't want to get back on the road to look for a restaurant so we decided to settle in then go back to the dining room to take advantage of the complimentary dinner.To our surprise we found a pot of delicious steaming hot homemade vegetable soup - just right for a crisp, cool autumn night.
Like many other reviewers we certainly did note the fact that this is an older property. Entrances to the rooms are from the outside rather than being accessed through in an interior corridor. The condition of our particular room was acceptable. It was clean and everything was in working order. We did notice that the small refrigerator was unusually loud when it "ran" which might be disconcerting to individuals who are bothered by white noise. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we did also notice that we could easily hear footsteps of the guests in the room above us.
With respect ot the location, we felt completely safe. The property is not at all difficult to find. It is well marked and just off the exit.
We enjoyed the management and staff at this property enough that we will likely return when we visit Asheville next.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftshowtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Days Inn Asheville West. I am very pleased to know you had a good experience and will stay with us again. Our daily complimentary supper is a real plus because you don't have to drive out to get a nice hot meal and its free! I am glad you enjoyed it and that you found your room to be clean and functional. Thank you for bringing the refrigerator noise to our attention, it will be addressed. I am also pleased to read your comments on our location, which counters some negative comments in other reviews that indicate we are not conveniently located or safe. Our friendly staff looks forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

the first room that they put us in was dirty and the tv didn/t work so we asked for another room and when it rained the ceiling leaked next to the bed on the carpet so we had to listen to the drip drip all night long and when i got in the shower the next morning, there were already dirty washcloths in it from the last guests. also, there was hair all in the shower which tells me that the shower had not been touched

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank CLAUDE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will work diligently to correct the issues that you mentioned.


Sincerely,

Richard Liebeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank VICKIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#39 of 66 in Asheville
558 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Address: 2551 Smokey Park Hwy, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715-9304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Price Range: $58 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation. Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Tour the historic Biltmore Estate, an 8,000-acre estate featuring a 250-room chateau, or take a scenic drive through the mountains on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy unique views on a hot-air balloon ride or explore the streets of historic downtown Asheville. The nearby North Carolina Arboretum is a great place for a peaceful walk, and Wolf Laurel Ski Resort offers great downhill skiing terrain during the winter. For additional outdoor activities, head into Great Smoky Mountains National Park, not far from our Candler, NC, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing