We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Budget Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Asheville West
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect because when you pull up you only see the office. You then go up a hill to the hotel itself. It was nice to see that there were a lot of people staying there, and I felt safe as a single female with children.

They also call once you get to your room to make sure you are satisfied with the room.

They do offer dinner. That night it was chile and water or sweet tea. Then they have breakfast in the morning. The dining room is large, and you can quickly get your food and get out of there. The rooms are very basic, but again you pay a low price for the room.

I remembered reading the comment about staying in a wing without children, but I didn't see any kids except my two there. That is only mentioned because I thought it might be noisy and full of kids. I never heard any noise outside the room, but if I didn't have young kids, I would request a room upstairs. You could hear people walking around at night in the room above. I turned on the fan because it was easier to listen to the fan for me than the walking.

If you are looking for a budget hotel in a beautiful location, I would stay here. The location is gorgeous. There is also a small gas station right by it which sells quite a bit of wine and has crock pots full of boiled peanuts.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs because you can hear people walking around in the room above at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastalJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Days Inn Asheville West. I am pleased to know you had a satisfactory stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 824 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have never been to a motel where an evening supper(vegetable stew with beef or chilli) was provided before. The staff of this establishment went out of their way to be helpful.

The room was clean and tidy with a good bathroom which could be kept separate with a closing door. This allowed one of you to get up in the morning and use the bathroom without disturbing the other in bed.

Breakfast was very good with coffee, juice, cereal, grits, toast, cakes as well as biscuits and sausage gravy

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and beds have been replaced recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExItteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and compliments that have made us feel quite special. We are constantly ugrading our property and doing our best to make sure our guests have a good experience with us and the 2 complimentary meals every day is a well-appreciated bonus. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I visit Asheville several times a year for business, and I ALWAYS stay at this Days Inn. Showing a bit of it's age, and it is a bit out of the way, but for business it's perfect for the price. Dinner and breakfast are included. Dinner varies between soup, chili, or spaghetti. They have water and ice tea for the beverage, and the cook always brings me a plate with a couple of cookies for desert.. Breakfast is biscuits, gravy, egg, cereal, oatmeal, breads & a couple of different danishes, coffee, milk & juice. Other restaurants and stores are one exit up, and Carrier Park is less than 10 minutes away (greenway for walking/jogging, volleyball & basketball courts, playgrounds, etc), & Biltmore is less than 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: You have to drive up a hill to the first building from the restaurant. That first building faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMtraveler58134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your loyal patronage of the Days Inn Asheville West and your appreciation of our service. I do have to point out that we are in the process of giving the property a facelift. We worked on the interiors during the winter and now that it has gotten warm enough to plaster/paint, we are starting on the exterior. We hope you see the improvements on your next visit. Thank you for the feedback and please know that your feedback is very valuable to us and assists us in improving our property and service. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This motel is not luxurious, but it is a decent motel with a free breakfast and allows pets for a $10 fee. The door to our bathroom would not close all the way. And we had to ask for our 4th towel - no big deal. Other than that, it was a fine place to spend the night. Soaps and shampoo provided. Coffee and tea plus fridge in the room. Everything was as clean as any other motel room. The Asheville area is listed somewhere online as one of the 10 most dog-friendly areas in the country, so finding a dog-friendly motel probably would not be dificult. I was looking for a low-cost or free place to bring my two dogs along, and this motel fit the bill.

Breakfast was exceptional by cheap motel standards. The basic donuts and pastries were provided, along with orange and apple juice, milk for cold cereal or oatmeal, hot egg patties, actual biscuits and sausage gravy (which was delicious), toast and fresh fruit. There was plenty for all the guests.

If passing through the area, I would not hesitate to stay here again. I did book through Priceline, saved money, and checked in and out flawlessly. Highly recommend booking ahead if possible, for these reasons.

Room Tip: There are three floors to this motel, so if climbing stairs is an issue, keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationmom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The Days Inn Asheville West takes pleasure in welcoming your pet family members at a small fee. All of our pet rooms are thoroughly deep-cleaned with the addition of flea control and carpet and upholstery shampooing after every pet stay and we have a large exterior area including a large backyard where our pet guests like to take walks and hang out. And for our guests with concerns about pet allergies, all our pet-friendly rooms are designated and will not be assigned to guests who specifically request a non pet room. I am pleased to know that our clean accomodations, discount prices, generous amenities and efficient customer service lived up to your satisfaction and we look forward to hosting you and your furry friends anytime you are in the Asheville area. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

When in the ashville n.c. area stay at this days inn. It is well worth going out of your way. Great
staff and clean safe rooms. better than most choice hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make sure our guests have a great experience and it is always a pleasure to see that acknowledged. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Check in was a breeze though for some reason our keys kept forgetting how to unlock the door.
After check in we went down to the complimentary dinner which saved us a trip out.
The room was clean and comfy. The internet connection was good.
Breakfast was better than most of the places we have stayed.
At check out we ended paying what they said it would be the night before.
All in all a nice experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike53153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am pleased to know you had a good stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you had trouble with your room keys, they do get deactivated if placed near something magnetic like a cell phone, although our guests like to think that its because they have a magnetic personality :-) Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was by far the friendliest staff we've ever met. We stayed only a short time but had a great stay. April and Dawna are so sweet and represent the hotel very well. We got an excellant senior rate and checked into our room. This hotel is an older hotel but it's well maintained and very clean. There was a refrigerator and small microwave, coffee pot, iron and free internet that worked very well. The rate include a free supper that was Brunswick stew, cornbread, tea and cookies. It was very tasty and really free.Dawna is the breakfast and supper server and she did a great job. The area is very pretty and righ outside of Asheville along I-40. Great place to save money and still enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Another great review of our establishment! Thank you very much for your feedback and for your recognition of the exemplary service provided by Donna and April. The Days Inn Asheville West takes pride in offering friendly service and a great value and I am very pleased to know you had a wonderful experience with us and were able to enjoy the various amenities we offer. We are also very fortunate to be located close to several attractions in gorgeous west NC such as the beautiful Dupont State Forest with its waterfalls where "The Hunger Games" was filmed. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again. SIncerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#40 of 66 in Asheville
556 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Address: 2551 Smokey Park Hwy, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715-9304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Price Range: $62 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation. Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Tour the historic Biltmore Estate, an 8,000-acre estate featuring a 250-room chateau, or take a scenic drive through the mountains on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy unique views on a hot-air balloon ride or explore the streets of historic downtown Asheville. The nearby North Carolina Arboretum is a great place for a peaceful walk, and Wolf Laurel Ski Resort offers great downhill skiing terrain during the winter. For additional outdoor activities, head into Great Smoky Mountains National Park, not far from our Candler, NC, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing