We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Asheville West
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here with our children for one night on our way further south. We chose this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews that told us it was a good value and they were right. We got two adjoining rooms so we'd have plenty of space for the kids. We arrived too late for dinner, but the free breakfast combined with the price of the rooms was a great value in and of itself. The rooms were clean and you could tell had been recently upgraded (nice quality tile in the bathroom, shower, etc.) We spoke to the hotel manager and saw that she truly cares about providing a nice place to stay for her guests. It is obvious that they have many return patrons. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlh6231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you so much for your glowing review! It is always a pleasure to receive affirmation that our care and dedication pays off. The Days Inn Asheville West team is always striving to offer the best value in the Asheville area and to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. We are thankful for the patronage of our loyal return guests and the high occupancy we are enjoying, no doubt due to positive reviews such as yours. Our beautiful outdoor pool has been especially popular this summer. It is extremely rewarding to know you chose us based on our Tripadvisor reviews and thank you for adding to them. We will continue to work hard to make sure all our guests have a great experience. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Booked on priceline.com. Gave me a smoking room instead of non-smoking. Said there was nothing they could do. Got half my money back from priceline, though who knows if it was them or the hotel at fault. The room was only semi-clean and apparently had last been updated in the Reagan administration. The rooms are located in a seperate building a couple hundred yards up a hill from the building with the lobby in it. Every ice machine at the place was out of ice the night we checked in.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank doctorboomstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I will use it to make our motel better.

Sincerely,

Richard Liebeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

One of the best travel values ever. Had soup on for evening arrival and an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Thank you for the feedback. I am very pleased to know you had a good stay with us. Saving on 2 meals for the entire guest party at our discount rates definitely makes us a great travel value in today's economy. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Clean hotel, in convenient location. Exceptionally friendly staff. Good breakfast, excellent value for money overall. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USAtravellerNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Thank you for your review and recommendation. I am pleased to know you had a satisfactory stay with us and look forward to your visit next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My wife and I were visiting Asheville for an extended weekend. We checked the common Travel sites on line for inexpensive options near Asheville and found a great rate for The Day’s Inn Asheville West (actually in Candler). Before booking I checked out the motel on Trip Advisor and saw that it consistently got good reviews. So I booked the deal (I was able to get the room for $44 on the weekend by booking 21 days in advance).

This motel is at a great location that is really close to Asheville. It’s located right on I-40 but set back just enough that there isn’t much traffic noise. From the motel it took us about 15 minutes to get to downtown Asheville. The Biltmore and two different access points for the Blue Ridge Parkway are within 20 minutes of the motel.

The motel is not fancy, but it’s clean and in fairly well maintained. The property is basic with the rooms being just up the hill from the main office. There is a breakfast room and coin operated laundry facilities available as well.

Our room came with free Wifi and cable TV. The room had a coffee maker, mini frig and microwave. Our room showed a bit of wear, but it was in good repair and clean. The only negative thing I can say about the room is that the pillows were small and not very comfortable.

The room comes with free breakfast (basic hot breakfast options) and something they call a “Southern Supper” which is a free dinner. One night we were there dinner was beef stew/soup and the other night dinner was chili.

The staff are absolutely wonderful. When we checked in they were friendly and welcoming and they continued the positive interactions whenever we saw them. Our second evening there was a really bad thunderstorm that caused the electrical system in our first room to go out. I informed the front desk that the lights and air condition weren’t working in our room the person at the desk was VERY apologetic saying several times that they were sorry we had a problem (I certainly didn’t blame them for a thunderstorm!). They quickly offered us a different room and even let us keep our key to the old room so we wouldn’t have to move our stuff in the dark late at night.

This motel was a great value. This location costs much less than other similar motels in the Asheville area and includes not one but two free meals. We will stay here again when we visit Asheville again later this summer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonLugoff_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Thank you for your comprehensive review of the Days Inn Asheville West. It is always a pleasure to receive guest feedback and to know that our guests are satisfied with the accomodations and service we have to offer. It is indeed a great value compared to other hotels in the area. I am pleased to know you were able to avail of our discount offers and amenities and that your concerns during the stay were addressed efficiently. I would like to clarify your statement about the coin-operated laundry. We do not have guest laundry facilities on the premises, although there are 2 laundermats within 3 miles from the hotel. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to your next visit. SIncerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

There are cheaper motels in this town but I wasn’t in the mood tonight. I have a coupon for $39 and that is their best rate. Highway sign says $44, billboard a few miles back also said Corp Lodging and CLC pricing.

No issue at check in, I ask for a room with good WiFi and get a room with the router in it. Room is clean, water is hot, heater works.

Not only does this motel have free breakfast (I was gone before it started … but they list biscuts, gravey, eggs) they also have free soup in the evening. I did see a few people enjoying it but I wanted a full meal. (I’ve now checked their website and it is listed as ‘Complimentary Southern Supper’)

Pictures show the details, Room for a half dozen big rigs plus lots of room for smaller units. The place looks like an old style Howard Johnsons with the separate building for checkin and breakfast.

This was a rare time where I turned on the TV, yes it works. At least on HBO, no issues.
Sounds like a husband – wife live right on the place so always someone there. I’ll be back, unless I’m really cheap next time.

For those that want a meal included on both ends of the day, this may be a better deal than the $29 places.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

It is a pleasure to read the rare review from a business traveller. Most of our reviews are from guests on vacation, however, most of our weekday guests are here on business and I am glad to read a review of our property from a different perspective. We are one of the few hotels in the Asheville area that accept Corporate Lodging and our low CLC rates save our business travellers a lot on the road as does our travel coupon. Convenient location right off the interstate, a nearby TA truck stop to fuel, free and ample truck parking, free and high-speed wireless internet, 2 complimentary meals and most of all clean and comfortable rooms make our Days Inn Asheville West an excellent option for truck drivers needing to stop for a few hours. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will make the Days Inn Asheville West your hotel choice whenever you need to stop in the Asheville area. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is not the fanciest hotel but it is a great choice for us. Our rate was fantastic and came with a free dinner and breakfast. The dinner was hearty and tasty and it was really free. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was pretty basic but clean with a micro-wave and fridge. This hotel is on the outskirts of Asheville, this is probably why the rate was so resonable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripper057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Days Inn Asheville West and for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to know that you were impressed with our accomodations and service. Our rates are always the best in the Asheville area and with high gas prices, our rates are a great relief. I am also glad to hear that you were able to avail of our various amenities that include 2 complimentary meals, in room microwaves, refrigerators and coffeemakers, and discount tickets to local attractions, making the Days Inn Asheville West an excellent deal . It will soon be pool season and we hope you will be able to come back and visit us this summer. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#40 of 66 in Asheville
556 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Address: 2551 Smokey Park Hwy, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715-9304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Candler
Price Range: $62 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation. Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Tour the historic Biltmore Estate, an 8,000-acre estate featuring a 250-room chateau, or take a scenic drive through the mountains on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy unique views on a hot-air balloon ride or explore the streets of historic downtown Asheville. The nearby North Carolina Arboretum is a great place for a peaceful walk, and Wolf Laurel Ski Resort offers great downhill skiing terrain during the winter. For additional outdoor activities, head into Great Smoky Mountains National Park, not far from our Candler, NC, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing