We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Every Minute of It!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Springs Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Loving Every Minute of It!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Mountain Springs Cabins is our home away from home!!

You cannot go wrong visiting this wonderful location for a little rest and relaxation, listening to the springs and enjoying the pretty country setting. Everything is so charming and you will enjoy visiting time and time again. We have personally stayed in 4 of the cabins and have loved every minute of each visit! All the cabins are so comfortable with local charm galore...

You also cannot go wrong choosing Mountain Springs Cabins as home base for all your hiking, exploring and outdoor adventures. Kate and Alicia are such gracious hosts and are full of wonderful ideas of fun activities in the local area. They have given us suggestions for activities at Biltmore outdoor adventures. They have suggested local parks for walks. They have been so kind as to listen to what kind of hikes we are interested in (360 views, waterfalls, easy, intermediate, etc..) and suggest / print out directions for the best hikes in Western NC. They always are interested to hear what we thought of the activities and to see pictures to share in our fun.

We highly recommend visiting Kate and Alicia at Mountain Springs Cabins!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    22
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
162
117
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in the The Willow Creek cabin for three nights and it was wonderful. Our arrival was delayed slightly but there was no trouble getting out packet and getting into our cabin. We were greeted immediatly by one of the places ambassador cats caramel. We found the cabin spotless and large. The bed very comfortable and warm. On the table was a book loaded with ideas and places to go.

The following morning once the office was open I dropped in to finalize out check-in. I found the office staff a joy to talk to. They were eager to find out what we liked and immediatly offered suggestions that fit out itinerary complete with handouts and directions. Could have not been any simpler.

We were in town for an event at the AG center and found this location ideal. It was also convenient to all points inside asheville's city limits. The cabins are not far from the interstate system giving easy access to anywhere you might want to go.

The area around the cabins is rural but not desolate. Their is a pretty and active farm across the creek. Other houses are visible but quaint. Their is a large grassy common area to enjoy along with the very nice creek frontage. I was told that very soon walking trails will be opening.

I found the photography potential to only be so so. The main issue is that the sun is rising behind a fairly steep ridge, meaning the valley floor does not get sunlight until almost an hour and a half after dawn, making the golden hour hard to achieve. the evening golden hour has the same issue. I did, how ever find many interesting bird and flowers to picture. The creek is also particularly photogenic Being naturally shaded it lends itself to creating action effect shots with delayed shutter speed.

Overall I found this place a great little getaway for me and my wifes anniversary and I recommend it!

Room Tip: CAbins 10 - 11 and 12 are off the beaten path
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Willow Creek afforded more privacy as it sits at the end. The first several cabins are very close to each other, and across the driveway from the creek. I think the three middle cabins do not have parking immediately next to the building but within a short walk. The cabin was very nice, stayed warm even through a possible record-breaking cold night. It was clean and very impressively well-stocked with everything we might need. Across the creek is a farm, so I wonder if summers afford specific aromas from that area. :D We enjoyed the cattle, goats, two roosters vying for alpha status... Kate and the staff are super friendly and hospitable while being professional and providing a superlative getaway.

Room Tip: The full bed upstairs at the Willow Creek is very uncomfortable. The upstairs stays very warm so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livelikethelocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed in The Potting Shed for a family girls weekend (Mom, 2 grown daughters, and a 2 year old). The cabin was so cozy and comfortable for all of us, and it looked just like the pictures! We loved the gas fireplace, the decor, and the beds were super comfortable! We arrived after the office was closed, but they had a welcome packet with everything we could possibly need ready for us at the door, and there was even a welcome sign on the front door with all our names on it (a very nice personalized touch!) Alicia and Kate in the office were very friendly and helpful with area info. Great location, 20 minutes from downtown Asheville. We can't wait to stay here again, this time for longer!! Definitely a great deal for the $$

Room Tip: Narrow road up and down the hill to some cabins might be treacherous in snowy/wintry weather, or wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacayOnMyMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Ky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in "The Potting Shed" and found it to be quaint and just our style. We look forward to a return trip and will stay in the same cabin. It's close to both Asheville and the mountains. The best of both worlds. The cabin just felt like home. The gas fireplace in the living room was a nice touch and helped take the chill off in the cool May mornings. The front porch was lined with rockers and made for a nice afternoon sit. There are lots of trees and flowering plants around the cabins so it feels secluded.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Mountain Springs for the first time at the end of July-August 3 for our family gathering. There were 28 of us in 5 of the cabins. The kids really enjoyed the tubing, playing in the water and the open spaces where the kids, parents, and even grandparents played baseball, soccer, and football. During the days we went to many of the area attractions, waterfalls, trails, etc. All of us enjoyed our stay there. The cabins were clean, well-equiped with kitchen supplies, and had great decks to enjoy the views of the river. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was our second stay at Mountain Springs. It is such a wonderful place to stay and we had the best time! My 8 and 2 year olds loved playing in the stream and being able to just run in the huge field. The cabin was very cozy, I loved the fireplace and the decor. It is very easy and quick to get into Asheville but I hardly wanted to leave! The staff is great, and the office has all kinds of necessities and fun stuff you can borrow - I forgot to bring a hair dryer, and decided at the last minute that my toddler needed a bed rail, and I easily borrowed both. They even have tons of movies and games. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
11.8 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,199 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
943 reviews
12.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.8 mi away
Asheville Cottages
Asheville Cottages
#1 of 21 in Asheville
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Springs Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Springs Cabins

Property: Mountain Springs Cabins
Address: 27 Emmas Cove Rd, Candler, NC 28715-9037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains and near the Blue Ridge Parkway just 10 minutes west of Asheville, Mountain Springs Cabins is the ideal destination for a family vacation, romantic getaway, honeymoon, small wedding parties, group reunions or a quiet meditative solo retreat. We have streamside cabins, fireplaces, and beautiful mountain views. Where the meadows meet the mountains...and the mountains meet the sky. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Springs Cabins Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing