We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, basic breakfast place”
Review of Miami Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Miami Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Candler
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great, basic breakfast place”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great breakfast place. Homemade sausages are excellent. My family and I eat here for breakfast several times every trip to the mountains. Haven't tried lunch yet, though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaleighNCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awful!!!!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Unfriendly waitress, easy Mac and store bought coleslaw!!!!!!! Burger way overcooked and barely dressed. Orange juice from a concentrate cup, waitress read her newspaper the whole time and didn't check on us once, rude!!!! Reviews do not reflect our experience! Wouldn't recommend to anyone!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rwilli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old Route 66 Diner feel in NC”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We heard about this restaurant from locals while staying at the Pisgah View Ranch. They said that the motel part of the Miami Motel and Restaurant had been closed a long time but the restaurant was open and the food was good. Upon seeing the dilapidated motel with its sagging and faded sign, I said "oh crap, really." Trusting that locals know the best places to eat, we turned in between the two rows of run down motor court rooms and noticed two things right away; first, there was a very inviting diner style restaurant set back from the road and, secondly, the parking lot was full. We recently took a motorcycle trip on Historic Route 66 from Santa Monica, CA to Chicago, IL and this restaurant would fit in there perfectly. With pictures of Barney Fife, Marilyn Monroe and John Wayne on the walls and the smiling waitresses calling us and the other guests by name or sugar or honey, we felt right at home. I'm sure the owner and employees are not trying to create any type of atmosphere, they are just being themselves. We had a great breakfast with good service and the restaurant was neat and clean. We left feeling that we had made a great find since we live close enough to drive back to the restaurant from time to time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
639 reviews
460 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food, fantastic prices!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Made it for lunch. Plenty of parking and easy to find. Very friendly staff. Customer area was super clean. Why a 97.5 rating? What is happening in the kitchen? Simple but ample menu. Full course entrees from $6.85 with three sides. Salad was great and the Russian dressing was superb. Soup is on the menu but isn't being made until the winter. Why is it there? Freshly ground burger meat and many types of burgers available from 4 - 8 oz. Nice warm rolls served with the lunch entrees.

This is a nice local place with quick service and decent food at a great price. Glad I tried it and I would not hesitate to return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OpinionGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Local restaurant where the locals frequent that has great ffod.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Restaurant also viewed

Candler, North Carolina Mountains
Candler, North Carolina Mountains
 
Candler, North Carolina Mountains
Candler, North Carolina Mountains
 
Candler, North Carolina Mountains
Candler, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Miami Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing