We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Asheville West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asheville West KOA
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed one night while were were passing through the area. The location is convenient to the interstate. The campground has a lot of trees which helps to make it feel like a "real" camping experience even though we were staying in one of the little cabins.
The cabins were small, but clean. The AC worked well and the beds were very comfortable. The camping kitchen had a stove and sink with hot water. The bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMex828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I spent three weeks at this KOA in a motorhome with slide-outs. The pros are: (1) easy access to I-40. (2) Short drive to downtown Asheville and the attractions around Asheville. (3) Pull-through sites are easy in/ easy out. (4) Free cable (5) Free wi-fi (6) Nicely-maintained pool. (7) Nice tree-canopy shades most of the pull-through sites. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The cons are: (1) the KOA is very close to I-40 and if you are sitting outside, the road noise is noticeable. However, at our site, it wasn't loud enough to be a problem, and we didn't really hear it inside the coach. (2) No concrete pads and our site (F-3) wasn't quite as level as we would have liked, but it was OK. (3) We had plenty of width for our slide-outs, but we had to angle the car in because the site was a little short for both the coach and the car (4) We couldn't use our satellite because of the trees, but since there is free cable, it wasn't really a problem. (5) The pool was a bit of a disappointment. It isn't heated and, even in the middle of summer, the water was quite cool. It was still usable once you got past the initial cold dip, but one of the reasons we chose to stay at this KOA was because it had a pool, and we only used it once.

Overall, we stayed at this KOA (and even extended our stay a week) because the location was exactly what we wanted--that is, convenient to Asheville, Biltmore, etc. We didn't spend our days at the KOA, itself and, for us, it was a better "base of operations" than a "destination resort."

This KOA hands out a very nice, free booklet on attractions around the region which includes specific directions from the KOA to the attraction. Although we used our GPS, rather than the directions in the booklet, to find our way around the area, we did find attractions we hadn't known before about in the booklet. It was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were here for 2 nights for a family reunion that was in the area. We loved the views and the trees of this campground. It has beautiful foliage and one can only imagine its beauty in the fall months. The staff was extremely helpful and kind during our stay. They were accommodating and answered all questions regarding the area. It did rain quite a big one afternoon and when we returned our site was extremely muddy and messy. This made for fun picking everything up and packing up to come home. This happens quite often when you go camping so it is sometimes expected. There were no cement pads that we saw all dirt. Not much grass near the sites. The bathhouse was always clean while we were there. I did like the security of the the bathrooms as it was inside the office area of the main building. They also had ice cream social while we were there which was very nice.
We would return for a longer stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a late stop-over enroute to Myrtle Beach. The campground is easy to get to from the I-40. It's definitely a stopover but appears adequate for a couple of nights or to stay if visiting attractions on the west side of Asheville. The sites are fairly close together and, we found some difficultly getting a site that we fit (front to back) so we didn't have to unhitch. The night security man assisted us to locate a more suitable site. The roads are gravel and, due to the sandy soil, I can see where rain would turn it into a soggy site. We were in a full pull through,and the back in sites appeared fine. There was only one site that appeared to be a worker camper with excessive clutter. They have a camp breakfast for $3 on Saturday which was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at this camo ground a few times in the past 2 years. the most recent was July 7th- 9th 2013. This trip we stayed in the lodge (cabin) It was really nice, plenty of room. Full kitchen with fridge stove and microwave. bunk beds for the kids, and me and my hubbie had our own room. There was a futon in the living room if you wanted for an extra person, though it was uncomfortable, but the bed in the bedroom was very comfortable, and had plenty of storage space for clothes etc. Restroom with shower. It was a pretty cabin, and had a swing on the front porch.

Last time we stayed in the smaller cabin which has no restrooms, so this was well worth the extra money to stay in the lodge, with cable TV in both the living room and the bedroom, so the kids could watch what they wanted as well. It was nice not to have to carry our clothes and stuff to use the other showers/ restrooms located in the main building.

The pool was nice and clean, and there is a playground located near the tent sites on the property, but it's a good walk from the cabins. They have a game room, but it's pretty much old outdated board games, alot of the pieces are missing, and not much fun for the kids. they also have a TV in the game room, and some old books, where you could leave a book and then take one.. kind of like a book exchange. I personally think they need to update the game room, and have something more entertaining for the kids. i know most people do not take care of things, so maybe they could have people to check out certain games, or video games etc. with their ID so if anything is damaged, they would be responsible to pay for it, then people would take care of stuff... Also I did not find any pizza or restaurants to deliver there... it's actually located in Candler, so not too much out there. The campground was clean and pretty quiet. Just wish there were better mountain views, or by a waterway, overall though I would stay there again, and would def. pay the extra for the lodge( cabin rental)!!

Room Tip: Oh they also have a large BBQ area outside of smaller cabins, and that is nice, but you must share w...
See more room tips

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COWGURL904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We camped here for four nights. Our campsite was directly below a huge cell phone tower. Not good. It was also right next to the highway and like another reviewer said, it was like camping at a rest area. The bathroom wasn't cleaned at all for the first two days we were there. And when the bathrooms were cleaned, they weren't very clean, especially the bathroom counters and the showers. We only experienced the facilities where the campsites are located. Perhaps the facilities near the cabins are better. Also, one night we were sitting in our chairs looking up at the stars when the security guy who was patrolling in his pickup truck pulled over and came out to question us because he thought something was wrong. Not sure why sitting outside under the stars constitutes anything worrisome, but that's what happened. The golf cart security stopped by twice as well, once to recommend a different place to put our tent and next to ask us whether or not we had registered (on our third day there). While security makes us feel safe, a drive-by and a wave would suffice. Pros? The campground is sorta in a nice mountain area. They have a nice road and it's landscaped well. There are laundry facilities (didn't use) and a small room with board games and a tiny library swap. If you arrive after 7pm, they'll leave your info in an envelope for you at the office. Good luck!

Room Tip: Ask for a campsite that's not right below the cell phone tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suecag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candler hotels

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this KOA for 4 days this past week. Without a doubt, if you're in a tent, pop up or hybrid, the interstate noise is annoying. Sorta like if you we're camping at a highway Rest Area. If you're in a motor home or a hard side travel trailer, with the a/c on, then it probably isn't an issue...we camped in a hybrid travel trailer and sleeping can be troublesome even with the fan on high. All the sites are pull thru, and there's only about 20.

The bathroom and showers are VERY clean, and that's what was important to us. We used this campground as a base camp to go off and do some business and see some sites. The office seems to have varying hours, so if you forgot something at dinner time, or want extra chocolate for your S'mores, get it during the day, or at the Dollar General down the road..they're open later and are probably cheaper anyway.

It's an easy on/ off of the Blue Ridge Parkway, about 15+ miles or so..and easy on/off of the interstate.

The Kamping Kabins are all in a small cluster with a pavilion to cook your meals on an electric stove top..don't think you're off in a quiet secluded honeymoon spot all by yourself cuz you're not. Perfect if you're traveling with a group of friends and want to be all together.

The first night we had a visitor who parked their vehicle on what little uncut/mowed grass there is between the sites..we were told the next day that the owner gets "kinda upset" when he
sees this...We're talking about 2 car tires on sparse grass covered soil. Being a paying customer, I was more "upset" by the uncut long grass around our little fire pit, so I guess we're even.

Would I stay here again? Probably not..

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet/remote/mountain view Kamping Kabin, this isn't your place. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NO2Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
6.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#47 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#28 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#38 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville West KOA

Property: Asheville West KOA
Address: 309 Wiggins Rd, Candler, NC 28715-8804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Candler
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing