We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain campground”
Review of Asheville West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asheville West KOA
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 40 ft MH. Staff were very nice and friendly. They offered a pancake breakfast and ice cream social with donations going to kids camp ( for kids fighting cancer). They staff here goes out of their way to meet your needs. The only problem is its a little tight getting in and out with a large MH. We would love to stay here again if in the area. Great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Elniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Asheville West KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night after a visit to Asheville, NC. We arrived after dark and left by 9 or 10 the next morning so I really didn't see much. They left an info packet at the desk for us since we arrived after hours and provided us with a number to reach them if necessary.
We stayed in a tent so I don't know anything about the cabins. The campsite was plenty big enough, had water and electric hookups, small fire ring, and a picnic table. I chose not to put my tent in the area provided for it due to all the berries from the trees and instead placed my tent closer to my car so there were a lot of gravels.....no one's fault, just how it is.....the tent site was nice and shaded and I'm sure would be great earlier in the year....I just didn't want to clean to my tent.
I was actually closer to the bathrooms than it appeared on the map...which was great. The bathroom/showers were clean enough....just as clean as anything I found in state parks if not cleaner.

It's less than 5 minutes from the interstate so it's convenient. You can hear the interstate but I didn't find it too loud....possibly though because it was drown out by the crickets, jar flies, frogs, etc. which were particularly loud that night and made for great sleeping. I'm doubt you could hear the interstate in an RV or cabin though.

Also there's a dollar store and truck stop nearby as well as a gas station or two if you happen to need anything. I think I saw a Hardee's too but I'm not sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 77hollyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins on the camp ground- it was a great stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed in a kamping kabin which was conveniently located next to the office and shower/bathroom facilities, which were very clean, considering campground was full for the weekend. My stay here was fine, as always with KOA. The only issue I had was that because all of the kabins were full for the weekend, the trash cans were overflowing. I'm sure that this is nothing unusual for a crowded weekend, so management should have expected this. Except for myself, everyone checked out on Sunday. By Sunday nite the trash cans were still overflowing because they had not been emptied. On Monday morning, it was obvious that overnite, an animal had raided the cans and left the area in quite a mess. I would stay here again. Great location and rates.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for five nights. The Campground was very clean and staff friendly. It is right off of I40 and although their was traffic noise with the door closed it was not a problem. I definitely would stay their again. It was very convenient in visiting Asheville and the Cherokee areas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had travelled the US in an RV 4 years ago but this time we were travelling in a car and staying in motels. Well, we were sick of motels so decided to book a night at this KOA park. We got one of their tiny little cabins that looked like something out of Little House on the Prairie. It only had beds but it was just like camping and the amenities were fine especially the private showers. It was a pretty place to walk around and the autumn leaves just made it even prettier.
Bought a breakfast there at the camp kitchen which was adequate and helped us be ready to hit the road again.
A nice experience and can't wait to revisit in an RV again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights. The camground was clean, well managed and priced right. Felt very secure. Great access to Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is close to I-40, but if you turn on the AC and close the windows you can sleep just fine. Will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RDPLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
7.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#32 of 66 in Asheville
637 reviews
7.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#39 of 66 in Asheville
553 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville West KOA

Address: 309 Wiggins Rd, Candler, NC 28715-8804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Candler
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing