We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Engadine Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 2 Candler B&B and Inns
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
“A perfect get away!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at Honey Hill Inn three times now, and each time, the experience just gets better and better. Cheryl and Gretchen are gracious, good-humored hosts who make sure that guests feel welcome and well-taken care of. The rooms with their wood work and fireplaces are clean, comfortable, and inviting. The breakfasts are other worldly. And the location is terrific for day-trips into the Smokies, for trips along the Blue Ridge Parkway or for shopping and dining expeditions into Asheville. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgaToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
175
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Cherokee Cabin is perfect for a couple. It's a well-sized and well-appointed studio-very private too.
Bed was comfortable and the place was very clean-and I'm a stickler for cleanliness and will move out without a second thought if lodging is not clean! We had one breakfast in the main B&B house-can you say the breakfast was more than outstanding? Used Honey Hill as a base station for visiting all around the Blue Ridge Mountains-the parkway and the towns surrounding including
Ashville, NC -cabin was perfect for that. We saved alot of money by using the cabin's kitchen for making lunches to bring with and most breakfasts and even a couple dinners-cabin provides a BBQ that was actually clean (unheard of usually in public lodging). Highly recommened. The owners are fascinating too.

Room Tip: get Cherokee cabin for a nice romantic private spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JBeachSanRafael_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fantastic! It was our first B&B and exactly what we were looking for. It is a beautiful old house with high ceilings and lots of wood floors and walls. We stayed in the Mary Hoyt room for three nights and it was huge. The TV was old and tiny, but we only used it to check weather. If we wanted modern accoutrements, we would have stayed somewhere else. Claw foot tub/shower was a nice touch. Cheryl and Gretchen were wonderful hosts. Every restaurant they recommended was perfect, from "Papa's and Beer" next to the K-Mart, to Corner Kitchen near Biltmore. I can't say enough about the 2 (sometimes 3) course gourmet breakfast that resulted in a very late lunch. Afternoon treats like Mexican wedding cookies and other bite-sized delights spoiled us. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting in one of the 2 common areas chatting with other guests. If this is not your thing, privacy is easy to achieve. We didn't get around to walking all of the grounds, but what we did see was beautiful. Access to Biltmore and downtown Asheville was easy. Oh yeah, the price was very reasonable. We will certainly return (well before our 50th)!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyHillInn, Owner at Engadine Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Pam,

Thank you so much for the thoughtful and kind review. We are so glad that we were able to help make your 25th Anniversary special. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to see you both soon, hopefully before your 50th!

Gretchen and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I cannot recommend Honey Hill Inn and Cabins enough. We stayed in the Looking Glass cabin for four days and three nights this past weekend for our second wedding anniversary and had such a good experience that we spent more time in our lodgings than we did sightseeing! The property is breathtaking, the owners (Sheryl and Gretchen) are warm and welcoming (and then hands-off unless we needed something--and we didn't), and the view is spectacular. We had a nice balance of meals in Asheville and meals cooked in the cabin's well-stocked kitchen. The silence was golden and refreshing and we particularly enjoyed a very short walk to a lovely and secluded spot where brightly colored Adirondack chairs afforded us a peaceful place to watch the sun go down. I couldn't have been more pleased with their attention to detail and the cleanliness. We are planning a return trip in just a few months.

Room Tip: We love the cabins! A short walk to the inn if you choose the gourmet breakfast option but secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Jct NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were so very fortunate to have found Honey Hill after a less than desirable experience somewhere else. Sheryl and Gretchen, along with their attentive staff made our stay around Asheville a pleasant and relaxing experience. Every evening felt like "coming home." I can't say enough about the wonderful and scrumptious breakfast each morning. There were days we even skipped lunch!
We will be back!
PS The bed was so comfortable as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netwoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary in the WNC area and lucked out at finding Honey Hill Inn in Candler. The property is absolutely gorgeous inside and out and there are so many special personal touches that made the stay absolutely lovely. Gretchen is an excellent chef and prepared beautiful breakfasts each day we were there. Cheryl was a great front of house host and made us feel welcome at every moment. We loved the chocolates and cookies upstairs that we enjoyed each night. My husband appreciated the keurig and I was grateful for diet cokes in the mini fridge. The bed was super comfy and we slept great both nights. We both highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Honey Hill is a wonderful bed and breakfast and is very convenient to Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and even Waynesville. We stayed in the top floor suite -- it is terrific - very spacious, quiet, and comfortable. The whole place is spotless with a lot of attention to detail. Cheryl and Gretchen are terrific hosts -- we felt right at home. Gretchen could have her own show on Food Network - she is that good of a chef! Homemade and fresh ingredients - the maple pecan encrusted bacon and stuffed French toast were incredible!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#48 of 65 in Asheville
51 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#29 of 65 in Asheville
606 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 65 in Asheville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadine Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadine Inn & Cabins

Property: Engadine Inn & Cabins
Address: 2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715-9365 (Formerly Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Engadine Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Engadine Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Engadine offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the Inn and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Engadine Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Hill Asheville Inn And Cabins Hotel Candler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing