We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Engadine Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 2 Candler B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful place for a getaway”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed in the Cherokee cabin for an anniversary getaway. It was a great choice. Clean, well-equipped cabin, beautiful views of the mountains and the well-kept grounds. We enjoyed walking around the property and relaxing at the benches and Adirondacks the owners have placed in picturesque spots. The owners were friendly and attentive. There was a brief power outage and they provided us with flashlights. One note is you can hear traffic on I-40 when outside the Inn or cabin. It wasn't disruptive to us and we couldn't hear it when inside. We'll come again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
176
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Tucked in on a mountain side just west of Asheville, NC, Honey Hill Inn is a lovely, Victorian home with huge comfortable ensuite bedrooms. Even in June the thick duvet on the bed was welcome. Breakfast was a scrumptious three course affair made with on site garden treats. Cheryl and Gretchen are innkeepers who know how to make you at home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

As we drove away from Honey Hill Asheville Inn, we decided that staying at this spacious and welcoming B & B was the best part of our visit to Asheville. The owners went out of their way for us. They called several local restaurants and made dinner reservations, advised us on "must visit" places in town and served hearty and delicious breakfast.
We will be back this fall and plan to stay longer so that we can really take in the peace and beauty of the gardens and the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lake77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was our third stay at Honey Hill and second in the Balsm Mountain Cabin. Waking to crisp temperatures and having coffee on the deck is so amazing when you live in Florida! Gretchen and Cheryl work so hard to please, and do! As time moves on the property just looks better and better each trip. Can't wait to get back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I just stayed at one of the wonderful cabins at Honey Hill.... first~ I was so impressed by how clean it was, how wonderfully stocked it was with everything one could want to cook and feel homey...and then had a wonderful nights sleep in a comfortable, soft linen bed...ahhh... luxury in a log cabin!
The morning was spent walking out to see all the beautiful views in all directions, then walking down to the honey hill yellow bench where I was serenaded by a sweet little bluebird welcoming us to the Hill. Cheryl and Gretchen felt like old friends from the moment we met.... and now I know I have a special "home away from home" in the mountains. At the end of every day of touring and sight seeing all of the fun and exciting things just a short drive away...I was always happy to come home, kick off the shoes and relax in this special place. Treat yourself to a special vacation...and enjoy first class accommodations and make new friends as we did!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolann56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We arrived late, but with graciousness our host Cheryl cheerfully showed us our cabin. Everything was in order and the loft bed was prepared for our girls. We has done a quick shop at the Dollar General, so that we were prepared for the morning breakfast. the next day was glorious weather and I spent some time down at Honey Hill lazing about in the wonderful Adirondack chairs set up just to chill in. The breakfast on the next morning was to die for: starting with the mint lime sauce lightly poured over assorted melons. Next course was stuffed french toast and with "Pecanized" bacon. Nice chatting with the ladies Cheryl and Gretchen and learning about their backgrounds. It was so nice to have the privacy of a cabin but the ability to have breakfast made for us. We stayed in Balsam Mountain and it was perfect for my husband and myself and our twin 12 year girls. Thanks Cheryl and Gretchen!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lockart6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This B&B has it all, magnificent architecture, beautifully decorated with period pieces, delightful and friendly hosts, comfy beds and the breakfast was worthy of Southern Living. I am a constant B&B user and this Inn was off the charts in all the qualities you hope to find in a B&B..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinlexky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn West of Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#49 of 66 in Asheville
51 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 66 in Asheville
300 reviews
7.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#38 of 66 in Asheville
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadine Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadine Inn & Cabins

Property: Engadine Inn & Cabins
Address: 2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715-9365 (Formerly Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Engadine Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Engadine Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Engadine offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the Inn and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Engadine Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Hill Asheville Inn And Cabins Hotel Candler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing