We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabins of Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a great time at our cabin. The furnishings were comfortable and the location was great - just a short (albeit twisty!) drive up to the Blue Ridge Parkway, with easy access to hiking. The directions were fine, and my little old civic had no problem with the road (our cabin was in the first set near the entrance). We especially appreciated that there were beer mugs already in the freezer! I feel that the value was very good for the price. Our only (and very minor) complaint was that the hot tub, in its cycling on and off, is a bit noisy. My fella is a light sleeper, so that probably wouldn't bother most people -- but I think next time we go (and we will definitely go back!) we will just skip the hot tub to avoid that issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 44cc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband& I stayed at the stoney fork cabin&we loved it sooo much! It was a beautiful place&we loved the creek right behind the house. It was so soothing,quiet&relaxing to just sit outside on the swing&listen to the creek. And at night we really loved sitting in the hot tub,soaking with the jets on. And the fire place was also nice bec when we were there it was chilly at night. But we loved it&the fact that there wasn't any cell service. I dont think we couldve found a more beautiful area to stay at. We can't wait to go back&do more hiking&horseback riding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marinewife461!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The cabin was poorly cleaned when we arrived. There was hair everywhere (dog or human or both) sometimes in huge clumps on the floor, on the beds, and really worked into the carpets. It was gross. There was a vacuum but it worked poorly and spread dust. To their credit, I called and they sent a crew out to clean it and they cleaned it pretty well. In addition, there was litter on the property that was unattractive and an old shed with no door that had a bunch of rusty tools and scrap lumber pouring out. That said, its a nice location, very close to Asheville and the National Forest. We had fun because my family is easy going but I'm telling you - the place was not clean when we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins0fAsheville, Owner at Cabins of Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you had to come into our Stoney Fork Cabin in those conditions. The person that supposedly clean that cabin and the grounds will never clean for us again. We pride ourselves with having very clean enjoyable cabins. The shed was there when we purchased the cabin and is slated for removal in the near future. We appreciate this guest giving us the opportunity to make it right. The Stoney Fork Cabin is one of our Cottages and was built in the late 1800's to be a mountain roadhouse that more than likely served moonshine. It was later turned into a summer cottage now is a vacation rental. It sits right on the creek and is one of the most relaxing places in the world.
Thanks,
Joey Farmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We staying in "Nice and Knotty" and it was very pleasant. When we first arrived, we were a little taken aback. It was quite what I thought it should have been, however it was quite peaceful and relaxing. The cabins were set back and could have been an issue if we arrived late. GPS was needed. The cabin itself was very clean and private. The one issue I feel was the couch was very uncomfortable. We would certainly go back for a second visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pisgah Paws was everything we were looking for. As others have said, the cabin was clean, cozy, and comfortable. We spent a good deal of time out on the spacious, covered porch grilling, sipping wine, and relaxing in the hot tub. At night, the stars and the sounds of the forest were amazing. Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway are both nearby. Going up Pisgah Highway to get to the Blue Ridge Parkway is a little scary the first time you do it, but once there you can drive the parkway, which is beautiful, or take any number of hiking trails. We hiked the Pisgah Mountain trail one morning and then took the parkway into Asheville for lunch. And then back to the cabin for a peaceful evening. Even though we didn't bring pets, we enjoyed the pet friendly atmosphere. We were visited by somebody's rambunctious black and white dog one day and a cute little gray cat a few times. Overall, we had a great time, highly recommend these cabins, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins require a 4 wheel drive vehicle to get to. Check with the owners before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I wanted to unwind and relax a bit and this cabin provided just that! The cabin was clean, well stocked with the essentials, and very private and peaceful. We loved the hot tub on the deck and being away from it all yet within driving distance to shops and restaurants. Well worth the trip and we hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnmcartor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in Pisgah Paws two years ago and in Lovey Dovey a few weeks ago. The location is great--close enough to Asheville to go in for dinner and close to Mt. Pisgah for great hiking. The views from both cabins are lovely. The cabins are equipped with most everything you would need and are clean. The cabin has a dishwasher but since they only provide a few plates and cups, you have to end up hand washing as you can't really justify running it with so few dishes (at least I can't). While our stay two years ago was perfect, this time there were a few problems. The hot tub would not run for more than three minutes, there was only one wine glass, the grill was tricky to operate, and there was construction (or tree clearing for construction) going on all day on the weekdays. I called about the hot tub and someone came by but they couldn't fix it and when they couldn't get someone out until the next day (the day we were leaving) just sort of shrugged it off. For the price, they should make sure these sorts of things are working since the hot tub is one great reason for coming there. I would hesitate to book again without at least talking to them first to be sure there are no problems with hot tubs (and to avoid construction noise). The other issue is that they may be building more cabins which is understandable but the view is going to be compromised as you'll be looking at other cabins from some locations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dlf_fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins0fAsheville, Owner at Cabins of Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you you for your review. We are always on the property Monday through Friday during regular business hours and on the weekends as needed. We from time to time have property clean up to do. We try to be very courteous and only work between 10am to 4pm if we are making noise. Most of our guest are out and about enjoying all Asheville has to offer during those hours. We provide about 4 sets of dishware and never mind if our guest need to run the dishwasher. The grills we use are just normal back yard gas grills, buts just as we did for this guest we are always more than happy to come light one. We try our best to keep everything operating correctly. When we were notified that the high jets would only run for three minutes at a time it was a Sunday and we knew there was no way a service tech could fix it that day and our guest were leaving the next morning. Thankfully the low jets were still working and the heater. was keeping the water hot. Our cabins are very private and secluded and they will remain that way. We specialize in couples and we try our best to be invisible to our guest unless they need us.

Thank you,
Joey Farmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candler hotels
2.2 mi away
Pisgah View Ranch
Pisgah View Ranch
#1 of 4 in Candler
116 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Asheville West
5.7 mi away
Engadine Inn & Cabins
Engadine Inn & Cabins
#1 of 2 in Candler
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Farm Cabins & Cottages
0.9 mi away
Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins of Asheville

Address: 25 Little Stoney Frk, Candler, NC 28715-9137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Candler
Price Range: $229 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cabins are near Asheville, The Blue Ridge Parkway and The Biltmore House. We would very much enjoy you to come and stay with us. Our private porches are built with the milled wood from the land surrounding the cabins. Our private cabins include private hot tubs, fireplaces, gas grills, wireless internet, satellite TV(w/HBO and Cinemax)adjacent to Pisgah National Forest and wonderful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabins of Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing