We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabins of Asheville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins of Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We keep coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed in Jus Nappin 3 years in a row. The cabin is very clean and has all the amenities you need to slow down and relax. We drive a short 15 minutes or so to several grocery store options and stock up on food. The drive to the expressway system is not bad, about 20 minutes and once there, you can travel in any direction to find hiking trails, beautiful scenery and waterfalls. Asheville is a fun city and dog friendly too. There are good restaurants and dessert places. Our favorite for dinner is Tupelo Honey's, either location, great food. If you want something delicious for dessert, try True Confections in downtown Asheville. We love Western North Carolina and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
126
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at "Nice and Knotty" on our honeymoon about 11 months ago, I'm just now getting around to review it.

We had a bit of trouble finding the cabin as we left late and it was dark when we got there, we ended up going up the mountain which was a little scary, but we finally figured out where to go and had no problem finding it the rest of the trip. The cabin was in really good shape, was very clean and very cozy. When we arrived, the hot tub was on, there was music playing and the fireplace was going. The hot tub was awesome, on the porch overlooking the ravine, very nice! It was very private despite being next to other cabins, we didn't even see any employees or the owners the 4 nights we stayed. There was a washer/dryer, refrigerator, dishwasher, satellite TV, gas grill, not reall roughing it but that's how I like it! The cabin has beautiful wood throughout, a futon in the dining arena nice bistro table and chairs, chairs on the deck, boardgames, they've thought of everything here! It was an amazing trip and an extremely good value, we'll definitely be back and it's definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29170
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The cabin is well appointed for a couple. Everything you'd need for rest and relaxing after hiking out the front door into the forest. We stayed in Heart Haven and it was newly constructed and very private. Great Western exposures were spectacularly viewed from the hot tub on the private covered porch.

We decided to not eat out on the town and brought our own groceries to cook all of our meals there, as the cabin is equipped with a full kitchen that doesn't overtake the space. Perfect for grilling and sipping a few cocktails whilst looking out at the wilderness. AND THEY ARE DOG FRIENDLY, which is A+!

This place is romantic, quaint, and in a great location. If you want to stay in it's great and if you want to travel out to Asheville, Waynesville, Brevard, or just drive the Blue Ridge Parkway, they're all within 30-45 min or less. And we did not once see any staff (in a good way) just a few other vacationers and their dogs.

The only downfall...and this is so very slight, and had little to no impact...is the drive into the cabins and the driveway to the cabin requires a bit of careful navigation. This is particular to Heart Haven as there are other cabins that have flatter driveways. Because we had substantial rainfall, it was a bit tricky to get up the gravel ways. Just keep that in mind, that would NOT change my recommendation, and I will stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Different cabins face East or West as they atop a mountain! Heart Haven has a slightly steep drivewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Jus Nappin for two nights in late March 2013 and we thought it was absoultely perfect.
The location---off the beaten path and just enough in the mountains that you feel secluded. It was only about 20 minutes to Asheville (which is not a bad drive at all) and we were able to go to the Biltmore and to a Brewery in Asheville before going home to cook dinner. It was definitely a little chilly while we were there but the mountains were beautiful!

The Cabin--we could not have asked for a more homey and lovely place to spend some alone time. It had everything we needed and more, but did not feel crowded or cluttered. The bed was incredibly comfortable-we did find some extra (much needed) blankets in the drawers. The little gas fireplace was wonderful at heating the cabin (turn the futon into a bed in front of the fire and tv for perfect movie watching). All of the movie channels they listed came in clear and the tv was definitely a nice size for the room. The cabin had a full kitchen, and we were able to make dinner and breakfast without a hitch (only salt and pepper in the kitchen, so don't forget sugar for your morning coffee!). We ate at a very impressive Mexican Restaurant about 10 minutes from the cabin called El Chapala on the Smoky Park Highway our first night because we were too tired to make dinner--plenty of leftovers. The hot tub never was hot enough for us, but that is understandable since they drain and refill the hot tubs for every new guest, so at least we knew it was clean and fresh...and it's pretty hard to complain about a hot tub at a 2 person cabin, you can't find that anywhere!!!---it could have been cold and we still would have been happy with it. The shower/bathroom is small but we didn't mind. The water pressure and temperature were fantastic.

Really can't say enough wonderful things about our stay. We can't wait to come back and stay for at least a week next time! Perfect escape for couples who need a little alone time.

Room Tip: This cabin is pretty close to the others. If you want one of the secluded cabins--do your research...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed the trip to the cabins of asheville.
Perfect for a long weekend getaway. The cabin is not large and it would be crowded with more than 4. Best suited for 2.
Stayed at the cabin named alone at last. Amenities included hot tub on porch, grill, recycle trash can (for those like me that are trying to do well to the earth)
Inside a tv with satellite, pull out futon, 2 person table and all we needed to cook.
Washer and dryer also included as well as a nice bathroom and master bedroom, just not huge.
I was able to bring my dogs which was cool.
Cabins were ready when we got there and I never saw the owner and had no need to, so the check in and out was great. I had his number if I needed it.
We were lucky enough to get snow and the drive up to the cabin was pretty.
This is between asheville and pisgah national forest and there is plenty to do.
If you are not wanting to drive 15-20 minutes to asheville, and/or want fine dining close by, this probably is not your place.
But for those who like to cook or take a drive into some beautiful mountains, like to hike or enjoy nature and are willing to take some time to drive into asheville if you want some additional culture or great food and having a quiet peaceful, place to stay, this is your place.
The cabins are sorta close together, but I really was not bothered by that. If you like total seclusion, this would not be your favorite.
I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

5 of us and a dog stayed at the bearadise cabin.
First off, the cabin is as advertised. Kitchen is actually pretty big - the pots and pans are in bad condition but I guess that happens from guests misusing it. The knives are terrible, so get your own knife. In the attached bath at times the hot water in the shower was slow to come. The hot tub was nice - I liked that it was under a covered porch instead of being in the open. Its a walk from the tub to the cabin, so its not something one would look forward to in winter weather.
Having said that, Its apparently their newer one but doesnt look so new. The floors had been mopped for sure but there was dust everywhere. I dont like wearing shoes inside a home, so I wear socks in winter. But my socks got really really brown and dirty during a day of walking inside.
The washer cannot take too much load - so be careful about loading too many towels there.
There are enough extra towels in this cabin.
The fireplace is a good feature - but we couldn't figure why it would come on suddenly and also go off on its own - some kind of timer ?
The TV in the living room is small and the dvd player wasnt hooked correctly. My husband had to tinker around a lot to get it work.
Wi-fi works great. There is no cell service half way down the town of Candler...so dont expect to make any calls while in the cabin. No grocery stores close by too but that's not necessarily a bad thing.
The owner should definitely mark the lights that are for the outside of the cabin as well as for the patio area - first night we were sitting out in the dark in the patio. I switched on every switch to figure out the patio lights( its in the kitchen ).
Beds were comfortable but the night stands in the master bedroom are stumps of dead tree and have pointy edges which is very dangerous when you have toddlers/infants around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rima71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Owner at Cabins of Asheville, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. The Bearidise Ridge is a house and not one of our new cozy log cabins. We have have updated it with a new roof, kitchen, and rustic decor. It is a great place to be laid back and enjoy the Asheville mountains.

The kitchen is stock with basic pots, pan, knives, plates, glasses, ect... We mop and clean between guest but the floors may become dirty from the tracking of feet from pets and guest. We provide a broom and dust pan if you need to tidy up.

The washer is a normal size front loading washer. The gas fireplace is controlled by a thermostat so it will burn as needed. The TV is a 32 in flat screen. There are two major grocery stores with in 10 miles.

The end tables and night stand are made out of massive logs and has caught the attention of a New York designer who has ordered several sets from us for some of her projects in the city.

We are sorry this international guest did not enjoy her stay, but wish she had called us so we could have answered her questions and fixed any problems.

We have built this business from the ground up and are trying to create a special place where our guest can connect or reconnect and build those special memories that change lives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Feelin Frisky in late Dec 2012 and really enjoyed the cabin and location. You are definitely out in the middle of nowhere but not too far - 20 minutes or so to Biltmore. The amenities in such a small cabin were really a surprise... full size refrigerator, dishwasher (basically a full kitchen), front loading washer/dryer, granite counters, Samsung flat screen tv, Directv, HD DVD player, hot tub, gas grill and gas fireplace. The water is super soft which we loved and the water pressure was great and water was really hot. The cabin was very clean and well maintained but also looked to be less than a year old. Also, a big plus was that the cabin had wi-fi even though there was limited or no cell service in the area.

Now for the things we noticed that made this a 4 star rather than a 5 star which aren't too bad but worth mentioning. #1 We noticed right away that the tv pixelated really bad and seemed to have problems with the satellite dish BUT we figured out that if you turn off the breaker in the panel to the hot tub that it resolved itself. Basically when the hot tub kicked on to heat itself that is when the tv troubles started and that was mostly at night so we just turned off the hot tub and were able to watch tv. #2 The hot tub wasn't warm enough. It was consistently 100 degrees and we tried to heat it up to 103 and it just wouldn't get hotter than 100 degrees. I should note that it was Dec and the lows at night were in the 20's so it just may not have been able to keep up with the cold nights. We got in anyway and my boyfriend thought it was comfortable but I had goose bumps the entire time and finally had to go back inside. #3 There weren't enough towels. There were 4 bath towels, 1 hand towel, 2 wash cloths, 1 dish washing cloth and 1 dish drying towel. We used 1 bath towel as a bath mat so the pine floors wouldn't get messed up from water. I generally use 2 towels (hair and body). We also used the bath towels for the hot tub. Our advice... Bring beach towels for the hot tub so you don't use up the bath towels. Also, there weren't any bath robes to get to and from the outdoor hot tub which would have been a nice touch. We could have washed the towels but didn't want to do that while we were gone all day and didn't want to hear the washer/dryer at night while watching tv or sleeping. #4 We weren't that impressed with the small gas fireplace but we thought it might not be safe to have a wood burning fireplace in a cabin that is all pine :) so we thought it was good enough and we shouldn't be so picky. #5 The air conditioning / heating unit was a small window style unit and turned off and on ALOT and was loud but we got used to it. An upgrade to a ductless Mitsubishi unit would be a great update which it looked like some of the other cabins had. One more thing... The mattress had a bit of dent in the center from guests Feelin Frisky we presume (which we made worse ha!) so a more supportive mattress might be a future investment for this cabin :)

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Feelin Frisky and would stay here again if we took another vacation to Asheville. If you like total seclusion and don't mind a bit of a drive to do things, then I would say this is the place for you especially if you want to bring your dog.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kashleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candler
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins of Asheville

Property: Cabins of Asheville
Address: 25 Little Stoney Frk, Candler, NC 28715-9137
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cabins are near Asheville, The Blue Ridge Parkway and The Biltmore House. We would very much enjoy you to come and stay with us. Our private porches are built with the milled wood from the land surrounding the cabins. Our private cabins with hot tubs, fireplaces, gas grills, wireless internet, satellite TV(w/HBO/Cinemax/Showtime/Starz)adjacent to Pisgah National Forest and wonderful views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing