We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafood Hut

Seafood Hut
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Annual visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Annual visit to Calabash for Seafood, we try a different place each year but the Seafood Hut is always on the list. no line this year, nice size shrimp plate plenty for me, wife had a combo platter could not finish due to the amount of food, son had Hamburger and said it was great. Service was good, drinks kept full. We will return

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elwoodblues0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    113
    49
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A real experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I had been to Calabash many years ago and found ourselves close enough to give it another try. We checked out Trip Adviser and settled on the Seafood Hut. I knew we had a good one when we saw the line. The wait was relatively short and we settled on the Deluxe Platter. We were astounded at the amount of fish, oysters, scallops, shrimp as well as a deviled crab in the shell that was put before us. And, there were hush puppies in a separate basket. The breading was so light and the frying oil so hot that the food was not what we have experienced with fried food in other places. It was an outstanding meal that neither of us expected o finish but both of us did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We chose this based on the reviews. Oysters and shrimp had no flavor. Greasy. Slaw and hush puppies were terrible.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good seafood but fries were not crispy and hush puppies had tough outer layer. Prices are within the local market charges.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trvlg4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Loved the shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had the daily lunch specials and the shrimp were wonderful, though the hushpuppies were bland. Waiter was fun with the kid, very friendly. Tip: go off the main lunch hour. We arrived at 1:00 Saturday and waited 5 minutes for a table. The place is quite small, but they work fast. We were there 7/13 and unlike some other recent reviewers have reported, the food was not greasy, quantities were large, the place seemed clean and the service was fast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Hut also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Seafood Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing