We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Seafood Hut

Seafood Hut
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
2 reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Very good food and friendly staff. Very small, though, and may not be your style if you don't like fried seafood. The deluxe platter is big enough for two to share. Will return when back in Myrtle Beach.

Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    121
    55
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good service and food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

downside is a long long wait--everyone loves it and there are lines at all hours
food is fried but lightly, place does just a few things but does them well., friendly service but next time I am going to do takeout to try to avoid the lines

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Place in Calabash!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Based on recommendations of locals and reviews, we tried Seafood Hut for lunch. It's a small place and we were fortunate to get a table even during the off season. The service was great. Our server suggested that we split the Deluxe Seafood Platter since it was our first time. That way we could try 5 items and it would be a better value and more food than 2 of the senior plates. It was delicious....a good size piece of flounder, big mouth-watering scallops, oysters, shrimp and deviled crab. We will definitely go back on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaGCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Calabash Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This small restaurant serves some of the best, if not the best, seafood in Calabash. I have eaten here many times over the years and it is always consistent. There is nowhere else I have found that serves the small fried Calabash "popcorn" shrimp as tasty as Seafood Hut. During the Summer season you may have to wait for a table but fortunately we stopped in on late fall weekend afternoon and were immediately seated.

Everything here is fresh; if you want some excellent fried Calabash Style seafood then this is the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Calabash”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We drove 3 hours to get there. The food is hot out of the grease. This is the only place I want to eat seafood at. Thanks for the great service and food. :) :) :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbarainnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Hut also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Seafood Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing