We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bagel I Ever Had - Not to be missed!”
Review of Bagel Dock Cafe

Bagel Dock Cafe
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Bagel I Ever Had - Not to be missed!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I know my bagels and have a great place in Rehobeth DE - but this spot is the best bagel ever. They make them on site and the bagels are HUGE and soooooo soft. If you are near Myrtle Beach make sure you find the town of Calabash just so you can experience this great place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    49
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sandwiches”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a Turkey Melt on Asiago bagel(scooped for less carbs) Staff was super, sandwich was deliscious! Love their eggwhite, spinach, and feta wrap for breakfast, now am happy to have a new lunch place too! For people looking for good food with healthier options the Bagel Dock is the perfect stop!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not that great and staff needs to learn some manners”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Besides little or no parking, if you know what a true NY bagel is (kettle boiled) these are not 100 percent authentic. I inquired about their "asiago cheese bagels" (they are a flattened bagel with asiago cheese on it) the lady at the counter snapped at me "THOSE AREN'T INCLUDED IN THE PRICE OF A DOZEN BAGELS!!!" which was completely innappropriate. Besides the blandness and tight space - not much room to move around, I'm not understanding how people can love this place, but, if you're in the middle of nowhere I guess you settle on what's closest. Honestly, if you want a real deal NY bagel, go over to the old Lowes food store plaza on the corner of 904 and Georgetown - Bagels and Sandwedges - you will not be dissapointed and the folks there are down to earth and the bagels are true to form. Bagel Dock Cafe certainly missed the boat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank elikat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just like New York Bagels”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have found this excellent Bagel sandwich shop in the heart of Calabash, NC.
Margaret & Carmine from the Northeast opened this Gem a few years ago and its a constant hit. I travel 8 miles just for the Marble Rye Bagels. The egg taylor ham & cheese are a meal that I look forward to. Wow we finally have a great value priced Bagel/Sandwich shop in SouthEast North Carolina !!!! THANKS

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rprichied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs More Parking”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I dropped by the Bagle Dock thismorning with my family on our way back from Myrtle Beach airport. We were hungry because we didn't eat before our 7am flight into M.B. so we stopped at the Dock and ordered bagels. I got an egg and bacon bagle sandwich and it was pretty good. My mom got a raisin bagel with apple cinnimon spread and it was very good. There were a lot of spreads to choose from and many bagel types to choose from. I will definately be going back to try some different combinations. They seemed to have a good variety of breakfast food and lunch foods including wraps and sandwiches. My only complaint is that the parking lot wasn't big enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bana-phrionnsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagel Dock Cafe also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bagel Dock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing