We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High tea in the low country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calabash Garden Tea Room

Calabash Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Calabash
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High tea in the low country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

This was such a treat! We had a great time, enjoying the fantastic tea and the fine details of everything. The food was stellar, my favorite was the strawberry soup and the turmeric ginger tea. We forgot our boas and hats, but of course these details were taken care of and we got to borrow these accessories. What fun!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JFaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, North Carolina
2 reviews
“I Love this Tea Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a very busy little tea room so I would suggest you have reservations before you go. That's an indicator of just how good it is. I would match this up against any tea room you can imagine!
The scone are the best I ever had and the finger sandwiches are tasty and unique. I don't want to see chicken or tuna salad on my tier, I would prefer that my sandwiches be something other than what I can make at home! Their apricot pecan ribbon sandwich, Kaluha and maple cream, pimento cheese, and above all the gorgonzola spread on flavored rice cakes are just heavenly.

If you want to experience the essence of a full Victorian Style Tea in a warm and friendly environment, this is the place you should go to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeaGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, NC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A lovely experience for granddaughters.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I took our granddaughter there for their tea service. Everything was so lovely. The food was wondeful; the ambiance made you feel so special; and the variety of teas (hot or cold) was immense. Our granddaughter felt so grown up (she was 8), especiallly wearing a fancy hat and fluffy boa. I recommend this to any visitor. The presentation of foods and sweets was very nicey done and tasted so good!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, NorthCarolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpected change in plans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We thought we would be disappointed when we found Noble's Cafe had closed, but we went to Calabash Garden Tea Room and had a wonderful lunch. Highly recommend - food excellent.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank susanbmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 review
“Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Visited this tea room when my mother in law was in town and had a lovely experience. We both enjoyed the Pumpkin Apple Bisque, Garden Salads with a delicious homemade vinaigrette and a tier with delicate finger sandwiches, mouth-watering scones and chocolate dipped strawberries. The African tea that we sipped was so good that we bought some in their gift shop on the way out! I would highly recommend this tea room to anyone who is looking for something to eat besides fried seafood and cheeseburgers in Calabash.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calabash Garden Tea Room also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Calabash Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing