We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Good Restaurant for Calabash, Sunset Beach, and Ocean Isle”

The Boundary House Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Very Good Restaurant for Calabash, Sunset Beach, and Ocean Isle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

There is a reason the Boundary House is busy year round, not just in the summer. It is one of the very few restaurants near the beaches that is new, clean, well designed, with a modern menu and good food. It is comfortable - although sometimes loud - and everyone can find something they like. Fresh seafood, fried, broiled,or blackened, or pasta, chicken, pork, beef, with decent wine, and a good selection of cold beer, good salads, and a menu for the kids, but don't expect steakhouse quality steak or great Italian. If you want, choose one of the old musty restaurants instead with dirty floors, and with heavily breaded deep fried "brown food" that might be a shrimp, or a scallop, or a hush puppy, that have the same recipes, same suppliers, and same cooks. This one doesn't. Off season is usually no problem, but it would be a good idea to call for reservations a day or two before in the summer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    359
    155
    49
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A happy Father's Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We took my husband for dinner on Father's Day. The food was quite good, service was attentive , and the menu offers something for everyone. Nice wine selection. We made reservations and didn't have to wait for a table. A lovely meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klc1128x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“they lie about wait times!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

well first they told us that you can't do call ahead. Then 30 min became 1 hour 15 min. each time a group was taken ahead there was no reason given! not worth the waste of time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cdapice23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food good but service terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We went there to try the aged beef. There were two prime ribs ordered; one medium and one medium-rare. They both came as ordered and were very good. There were two rib eye stakes ordered; one medium and one medium-rare. The medium-rare order was brought to the table well done. It was sent back and returned rare. The rib eye steaks were disappointing considered they were listed as aged. They were average at best. The service was very poor! We often ran out of drinks. It took forever to get the food and bill. The waiter kept apologizing but said that he was working with a large party. Overall it was a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GAVickyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have been vacationing in OIB for many years and this is the second year we enjoyed dinner at The Boundary House. We made reservations for the two of us at 5PM on a Friday night (highly recommend making reservations if you can as the wait can be quite long) and we were seating promptly. The food here is wonderful - we had the hot crab dip to start, the shrimp po' boy and hurricane chicken. I did get a side salad just to get one of their unbelievable croissants! The atmosphere is beautiful and by and far this is the nicest restaurant in Calabash. They have a nice entree selection if you want something other than seafood. We will be back again on our next OIB vacation!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boundary House Restaurant also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Boundary House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing