We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always busy venue!”

The Boundary House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always busy venue!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Have eaten here many a time over the past 3 or 4 years. Never walked in without the place being busy. Our group of four ordered chowder, crab bites appetizers and both were very good. Also ordered a burger - cooked as requested, but slightly dry; an oyster po-boy - slightly disappointed with the four or five small oysters on this; and eggs benedict - good, not great.

Our server seemed to be new and unsure of himself, but tried very hard to please. His effort was appreciated.

This lunch was not representative of the majority of our experiences here. Must have been an off day for the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    375
    159
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Totally enjoyed our visit. The ceasar salad came with a croissant that was drizzled with what I believe was a honey butter. Then came the Specialty Salmon. The pesto sauce was tasty but not over-powering. My husband enjoyed the bread pudding for dessert and said it was the best he's ever tasted (outside of his mother's of course). We sat at the bar and had outstanding service. There were three bartenders and they all made sure our visit was enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kikoq913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
1 review
“Wine Dinner Experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

2/19/14 - The first Wine Dinner and tasting at the Boundary House. The food was wonderful and Ray did a wonderful job hosting and introducing each course; the wine representative was most informative and also did a wonderful job explaining each wine. Sharon was the server and she did a great job keeping everyone happy. It was a lovely evening and I sure hope they have more wine dinners. We are locals and go to Boundary House at least once a week; but this was truly special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 257brendak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Both good and not so good”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had dinner here with a companion. On a winter week day night there were many customers. The menu was inviting and the wine list attractive.

I selected a Salmon that was well prepared and delicious. The blue cheese dressing was strange. Had a sweet flavor to it.

My companion got flounder which was dry and tasteless. He also had the potato soup that was not warm enough when served.

Our server was fine as was the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing once again...”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit...we keep thinking it will be better, I suppose. Each time we have had a long wait, decent service, and mediocre food. They offer a very good firecracker shrimp appetizer, but the salad dressings (advertised as homemade) were really disappointing. The blue cheese tasted like mayonnaise with some crumbled Roquefort in it. I had a steak; while it was seasoned well, it was terribly tough. My husband had ribs and said they were simply "okay"...he had expected better since the waiter told him that ribs are their speciality. The restaurant is very crowded and very loud. Prices are about what one would expect for such a place. They did not compensate for a forgettable meal, however. We will probably not return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boundary House Restaurant also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Boundary House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing