We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Nearby Hotels
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
158
112
32
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
112
32
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontthird floortop floorliving roombunk bedsfull kitchenthe outer bankssemi private deckthe cottagesfresh towelslaid backshort driveking suitewasher dryerlaundry roompots and pansnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 319 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in duplex #232. During the second week of May. This is off season which we liked not crowded at all. Almost everything was open.

If you have younger children, I would suggest walking further south on the beach to swim. The water is not as deep and the beach is bigger. We talked to some of the locals and hotel staff, superstorm Sandy, and several Noreasters really did allot of damage to the beach front.

The view is spectacular, you could not ask to be any closer to the ocean. The accommodations, are a little dated more of a cottage feeling than a hotel. Which was exactly what we were looking for. It really fits with whole laid back feeling you get from the minute you get on highway 12.

The duplex was fully stocked from bedding to pots and pans. When we needed clean towels we just went and exchanged them at the laundry exchange.

The kitchen was fully functional, everything was clean and worked just fine.

If you are looking for accommodations where the staff is going to be at your beck and call or all the high tech gadgets this is not the place for you. However if you are looking for a place to relax, relax, and relax this is the place for you.

We found plenty to do on the Island, the lighthouse is well worth the 12 story climb such a view. The museum is interesting and worth a stop in. Plus all the miles of beach to stroll along. One thing you must do is walk the beach at night. Bring a flashlight so you can watch the crabs. Such fun all ages will enjoy this.

This has become our new vacation spot. No complaints about anything. Just a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My fiance and his family have stayed here many times in his life and I have been blessed to stay here a few times over the years but none in the past 2 years. I recently have had some pretty bad experiences with hotels so when we booked our two night stay for May 2013 I was a little hesitant. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the cheerful hotel staff, brand new heated pool and hot tub.. and the immaculately clean rooms! All the heating/a/c units have been updated.. the beds were very comfortable/clean linens/very clean bathroom. If you are someone use to a modern 5 star always updated room this is not the place for you. However if you love a clean, comfortable shabby chic room giving you breathtaking views of the ocean and a real feel of Hatteras then please stay here!

Room Tip: Ocean front is more expensive but the view in the morning is worth the extra $$!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stood here twice (June 2010 and September 2012. Sorry for the late review) and my family and I loved it here. Located in the quiet southern part of the Outer Banks it was quite a relaxing stay. The views of the Atlantic from our 3rd floor, semi private. balcony was awesome to take in with a glass of the delicious local wine. The accommodations were spacious, if a little dated, but the full kitchen was convenient. There was a supermarket in nearby Avon we put to good use as well. The beaches at the hotel and in Cape Hatteras in general are quiet, clean and scenic. The nearby lighthouse is a must do if you are here. Don't expect a luxury resort feel or service however, this is a motel, do your own dishes, cook your own meals etc., but was fine for us. An overall great stay, love Cape Hatteras.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I agree with all of the post about the view of the ocean, great view. The rooms are clean but again they are dated.
If you plan on cooking their kitchen is dated along with everything in it. Cooking would be difficult
The pool is new and nice.
The negatives about it is that the people who run the place aren't very friendly.
I greeted a man behind the counter and ask for extra sheets and he just walked off and didn't say a word and someone else brought me some sheets.
Stairs are a detraction if you have a big family and a bunch of bags prepare for a workout.
This is a good place for fishing but there's really not much of a beach no white sand at all.
It's dangerous for smaller kids because of the lack of beach and its not gradual it gets deep quick.

It's a good place for couples and and fishing but I would not bring my family back
If you go visit Buxton NC Diamond shoals is a good restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markstravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseView, Owner at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the great views and the new pool! We are constantly striving to make updates in all of the rooms and properties. We apologize for your awkward interaction with our front desk staff as we most often have smiles on our faces throughout the day. We live at the beach after all! Our top floor, which boasts the best ocean views, does have some steps to reach the level, but the view is worth it! While we understand your safety concern regarding the beach we feel that Buxton is a wonderful family vacation spot and perfectly safe for children. We know our staff and their children enjoy it on their days off! We certainly hope you will give Buxton another chance with your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at the Lighthouse View during the 3rd week in April. The motel is quite large, but was very quiet at this time of year. The view was spectacular & the room was roomy & clean. It was dated, but had that old-time shore feel. It would be a great place for beach lovers in summer. My only real complaint on the motel is that the balcony is not private, so we didn't feel we could leave the windows wide open at night to listen to the ocean.

Hurricane Sandy did a lot of damage to the area last summer, including the LV's pool. They have rebuilt it, but is no longer between the building & the beach as it was in travelers' pictures on this site.

This far south on OBX, things are much quieter & more spread out, not nearly as touristy as Nags Head & points farther north.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews