We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Save
You added Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary here recently. We were in the oceanfront king room. It was off season, so it was extremely quite. Our room was extremely clean. And the view was awesome. We enioyed our stay, and maybe next year we will rent a cottage closer to the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flipflopflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    95
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
90
108
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We were driving from NYC to Key West and in one night we saw this lodge on the way and we decided to rest there. Beautiful decision. It's not luxurious but really cozy, wood made with stunning view rooms of the ocean. The experience of sleeping with wave sounds, waking up with the birds and a amazing sunshine is something we will remember. Just a few steps from the beach. The only down side is that to get in our room, I had to carry our luggage through a soft sand and then climb 3 floors by stairs.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3_1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just got home from spending the weekend here. We stayed in an oceanfront suite. It had a full kitchen, living room, bedroom with king size bed and also a loft with twin beds and its own half bath. The ocean view was wonderful from our semi-private patio. It was a little outdated, but was very clean and roomy. The kitchen had fairly new appliances. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in an oceanfront room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This is our 6th stay here after a hectic first part of the school year. We stayed in Round House #242 for 6 nights. The views are spectacular! The kichen is well equipped and the entire place very clean. We had free use of a washer/dryer. People are friendly. If you are a cat lover, be sure to bring some cat yummies.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank desear2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay here (oct. 21 to 26, 2012) and loved it! The room was very clean and roomy (we stayed in the queen efficiency 3rd floor). It is a little outdated, but again very clean. The views are amazing. We saw the sunrise every morning from our balcony (which was semi-private but fine). We also had beautiful weather, not a cloud in the sky all week and highs in the low to mid 70's. This place was a quiet, old time seashore getaway. We are from the east coast and it is nothing like our beaches. If you are looking for a luxury resort this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a very clean, quiet, relaxing vacation come here. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: They are all ocean front, but we stayed on 3rd floor for the best view. Be advised, there is no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Lighthouse View is a great place to spend some relaxing time at the outer banks. Located in Buxton and very close to Hatteras lighthouse. The grounds are nice and clean, parking is sufficient and the rooms are cozy and clean. During our two night stay (10/18/12-10/20/12), we selected a King size room only with ocean view. Daily maid service is provided. The room contains a two seat dinette, king size bed, dresser with flat screen (not HD) TV, closet, one bath, 4 cup coffee pot, microwave and small refrigerator. The semi-private deck is a great place to kick back and enjoy the ocean view. All our room neighbors were nice and we enjoyed chatting with them in the mornings and evenings. The staff is friendly and helpful. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're looking for more than just a room, the Lighthouse View offers efficiencies and cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistymorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the Oceanside round cottage2. Great location. Spacious cottage, very clean. Said moderate ocean view in ad, from terrace great view of the ocean. Was the top level of duplex 2. Perfect if you travel with 4 persons. Great value for the price. Would certainly rent this again.
For the price of 2 rooms in the motel, you get a beautiful cottage with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms,living room and kitchen.

Room Tip: Top level of duplex has ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marleen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.8 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

Property: Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Address: 46677 Hwy. 12, PO Box 39, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nowhere will you find a more delightful combination of beautiful vacation rentals seashore wonders, and southern hospitality, all within the shadow of the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse than at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging. Located on the oceanside village of Buxton, North Carolina, our beachfront campus offers some of the best views on Hatteras Island!Many of our guests have made us their annual retreat of choice because we have everything you could need for a great Hatteras vacation: convenient Cape Hatteras lodging, great in-room amenities, a location that couldn’t be any closer to the beach and sound, exceptional surf fishing, a host of exciting water sports, and, of course, the majestic Cape Hatteras Lighthouse for a fun sightseeing opportunity.We offer a wide variety of Buxton vacation rentals, from motel rooms to efficiencies to beach cottages. Whether you’re planning a quiet getaway for two, a fishing or water sports escape, or a full-blown multi-family and friend Cape Hatteras beach vacation, we can make it all happen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Buxton
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Buxton
Lighthouse View Hotel Buxton
Light House View Motel
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing