We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at one of the Oceanview Round Cottages. Simple and dated interiors but still adequate for an enjoyable convenient stay at the beach. The top floors have a nice view of beach and ocean, lower floors you can see bits of ocean. They moved the lighthouse so it's harder to view the lighthouse but it's not too far a walk down the beach. Stayed labor day weekend and it was very nice, no crowds, no lines at restaurants. Pleasantly surprised by the quality of food at the restaurants we ate at. Several within walking distance of this hotel complex. Nice pool close to ocean, but no ocean view, sand dune in between. Local beach store chains cut their prices by 50% starting Labor Day weekend.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better view, even if it is oceanfront you may have a sand dune blocking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    103
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
99
122
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, N.Y.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have been going here since before its current buildings were erected almost 30 years ago....There are pros and cons to this place....it is reasonably priced you are actually "ON" the ocean, the air conditioning is really good, BUT...the interior is kept simple, and pretty clean, although mold is growing in the bathroomsand we usually do find clothes or other stuff from prvious guests under the bed and couches...the WiFi is iffy...what has become bad is the lack of outside grounds maintenance,,,the place has no smoking rooms, but allows smoking outside on the deck and the place has become one big ashtray, with tens of thousands of butts all over....there are a few "butt buckets", that are never emptied, they are overflowing and smell horrible...it is quite breezy and a lot of cups, napkins, paper plates do blow around and are just never cleaned up. Garbage lays around for days before it blows away...the staff seems blind to trash...The recycling bins are only emptied sporadically and are overflowing with trash laying around all over in between....someone said the beach is clean...it is somewhat, because garbage blows away in the constant breeze...and again there are cigarette butts all over in the sand dominating the seascape...if you smoke you probably won't mind, but as a non smoker, I find it disgusting...it has gotten so bad I will probably go elswhere next year

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have some view, but it is tough work getting all your stuff up there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseView, Front Office Manager at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
This guest and his family have been staying with us at Lighthouse View for many years. We are puzzled by the recent review and feel compelled to provide a response. It seems as though the focus was more towards the negative aspects of the vacation than the positive for the majority of his 2012 Hatteras Island reviews. We feel that the changes we have made over the years have been for the better. We do provide our guests with free Wi-Fi through a new system this year. While this guest was staying with us we did experience an Island wide connection issue, which is unfortunately out of our control. One of the major changes that we have made within the last year would be making all of the units in the main complex Non-Smoking. We do still allow smoking on the decks outside, our guests should use their own judgment and respect others who may not smoke. We try hard to keep the grounds clean, LHV is part of our home and we do not want litter overshadowing all of the beauty our “home” has to offer. Our recycling bins are emptied by Dare County Recycling Center twice weekly. The cans which we provide for recycling purposes fill up (on Saturdays and Sundays especially) when there is a high turnover rate and everyone is emptying out their weekly stock pile. We have a clean and private beach for all of our guests to enjoy, complaints about beach cleanliness has never been an issue. This guest as well as others had the opportunity to see a Sea Turtle Nest hatch with in feet of our walkover. The following day guests were able to watch the Park Service dig up the nest and release the remaining turtles that same evening. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity for most people. It is unfortunate that this was not shared as a positive in the review. We would hope that when considering their vacation plans next year this guest reflects on the amazing opportunity to witness the hatchlings as well as all of the great memories they have created with LHV over the years. Lighthouse View will continue to do what we do best; provide clean and affordable accommodations within steps of the beach for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family stayed here for a week during our first time to the Outer Banks. We fit 8 adults and 1 child quite comfortably in the East Cottage. Our unit was clean and spacious. I slept very well, even with the light from the lighthouse flashing through the bedroom window at night (you get used it). It was great being only steps away from the beach, which was never overly crowded. I was thankful for the outdoor shower to get all the sand off before going inside. My son loved the pool! It was always very clean and the temperature was always perfect. We really appreciated having the convenience of the washer and dryer, especially after a storm blew our towels off the front porch. I think the front porch was my favorite spot there. I would sit out there early in the morning, drink my coffee, read a book, and enjoy the sound of the waves. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants an affordable, comfortable and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Love this hotel, the condos are great, the pool was clean and in walking distance of shops stores and everything you need. And this truely is a great ocean front hotel. The beach is clean and great for sea shells.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend on a last minute trip to the Outer Banks. This hotel is located in Buxton, NC on Hatteras Island. I rented a standard room with two double beds. The room itself was nothing spectacular, but it was clean, and that's all that really matters. What it lacked in sparkle, it made up for with it's excellent beach front location that had easy access to the beach. It is also located within a couple minute drive of some of the more popular restaurants in the area as well as the cape hatteras lighthouse. This was also one of the best values I could find in the area, especially at the last minute. We did have just a parking lot/distant sound view as opposed to a beach view, but it was only $159 per night, which was much lower than anything else I could find right on the beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is wonderful place for a relaxing stay. We had a room on the third floor and the view from our window was amazing. I enjoyed watching sunrise early in the morning. Our room was very clean. I usually have problems sleeping in hotels, but in this place I was able to sleep like a baby. The queen mattres was very comfortable. The weather cooperated, so the stay couldn't be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Was a great place to stay. The people were wonderful and helpful. I was only there overnight, and I could not have been more pleased with it all. The room and view could not have been better. Enjoyed what little time I had so much that I'm planning a trip next year for a week. Can't wait to be able to explore more of the outerbanks.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
151 reviews
10.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

Property: Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Address: 46677 Hwy. 12, PO Box 39, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nowhere will you find a more delightful combination of beautiful vacation rentals seashore wonders, and southern hospitality, all within the shadow of the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse than at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging. Located on the oceanside village of Buxton, North Carolina, our beachfront campus offers some of the best views on Hatteras Island!Many of our guests have made us their annual retreat of choice because we have everything you could need for a great Hatteras vacation: convenient Cape Hatteras lodging, great in-room amenities, a location that couldn’t be any closer to the beach and sound, exceptional surf fishing, a host of exciting water sports, and, of course, the majestic Cape Hatteras Lighthouse for a fun sightseeing opportunity.We offer a wide variety of Buxton vacation rentals, from motel rooms to efficiencies to beach cottages. Whether you’re planning a quiet getaway for two, a fishing or water sports escape, or a full-blown multi-family and friend Cape Hatteras beach vacation, we can make it all happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Buxton
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Buxton
Lighthouse View Hotel Buxton
Light House View Motel
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing