We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
15
Reviewed April 21, 2006

These folks really know how to make your stay special. The rooms are terrific, the facility location idyllic. Along with wonderful breakfasts each day, Laura bakes up fresh cookies each afternoon and sets them out in the dining room along with lemonade. The fridge is stocked with "help yourself" water and soda. Baskets of snacks are provided at no extra charge. They have over 1200 movies that you can watch either in their "home theatre" or in the comfort of your room. The place is very clean and well decorated. It felt like home away from home, only better (didn't have to make the bed - hee-hee). I would highly recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast. As someone who has been to other bed and breakfasts, I rate this one top notch.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,185 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
seattle, wash
14
Reviewed April 14, 2006

The obvious merits were the incredible breakfasts, attention to a comfortable stay with a PC available 24/7 and a fabulous setting. Being with kids and able to view a film of our selection in their movie theatre with popcorn, candy and pop was great. Also we played board games into the late evening in the dining room and had the best time all the while pouring chais and wolfing down homemade cookies. The host and hostess, Steve and Laura, have my highest admiration. They are committed to the guests who stay with them and are lively, caring and can carry on an in depth conversation on just about anything! I am ONLY sorry that I live on the West Coast!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2006

The Nelson's certainly have the gift of hospitality! They anticipate your every need. The amenities are unbelievable. We were there in the "off season" but everything was "on" in respect to the scrumptious food, accommodations, location, views and gracious hosts. We had a truly delightful experience. We have traveled all over the USA and have stayed at many B&B's. We have added the Inn on Pamlico Sound to our list of best B&B's in the USA!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mosoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Addison, Vermont
15
Reviewed April 3, 2006

The last two summers we traveled to the shores of the Outer Banks and vacationed at The Inn on Pamlico Sound to relax our weary bodies, refresh our spirits, and rekindle our romance.
During our stay, the inn’s amenities, gourmet breakfasts and close proximity to the water provided us with a beautiful place to unwind away from our hectic lives. Its comfortable bed and linens invited restful sleep each night, while every morning the scents and sounds of Pamlico Sound gently awakened us. Warmed by the morning sun, we dined on the deck with specialty coffees, numerous juice options, fresh fruit, and a better-than-any-dessert entrée. The experience was truly peaceful.
Area activities and attractions provided varied opportunities to revive and rejuvenate. Whether the water beckoned the sports-enthusiast to grab a board, the fisherman to pick up his pole, or the sunbather to tickle her toes in the surf, the inn’s staff offered its expertise and resources. The staff was committed to helping us make the most of our time on the island.
The inn provided the perfect location to enjoy being a couple. Beach walks, sunset views from the inn’s decks, and luxurious guest rooms helped us to celebrate our anniversary.
The Inn on Pamlico Sound was an ideal spot to recharge our internal batteries and renew our commitment to each other.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
CHESAPEAKE, VA
12
Reviewed April 3, 2006

This was the best Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed at. Everyone was so friendly and the atmosphere was great. The breakfast that they serve is delicious. I would recommend this location to anyone who is wanting to travel down to the outer banks area.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
13
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Excerpt from our personal email to the owners, Laura and Steve, of 'The Inn on Pamlico Sound':

"Once again I would like to tell you both that we had a splendid time at your B&B. We will definitely be recommending it to friends if they make plans to head out to the Outer Banks. Again, thank you for your hospitality.

I can't think of any suggestions to add! In fact, I believe that your B&B had the most to offer compared to all of the other B&Bs we've stayed at... internationally! The room we had was gorgeous and it wasn't even a king size room. The views were spectacular, especially the sunsets. There was plenty of seating in and around the B&B where one could relax and take in the scenery. You had bicycles and kayak's available! Your breakfasts were delicious... my wife can attest to the non-vegetarian selections (too bad I wasn't eating meat or dairy products), but the selection of fruits and the abundance of them was great as well. And you made sodas, snacks, tea, and coffee available at no extra charge. Besides all of that, you were very friendly.

We truly enjoyed our stay."

Attached are photos of the sunset... from our room!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
11
Reviewed April 2, 2006

My wife and I happened across the Inn on Pamlico Sound while researching places to stay during a trip to the Outer Banks. What we read and what was communicated to us when we made our reservation sounded great, but when we arrived, we were quite surprised by how wonderful this place was. We received a warm reception and were quickly introduced to all of the comforts that the inn had to offer. Our room was beautifully deocrated and had a breathtaking view of the sound. Breakfast was excellent and so were the conversations that we had with other happy guests. Thanks for everything, Steve and Laura. We will definitley be back!

J&P
Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
7.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
2.1 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
316 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: $100 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Pamlico Sound 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn on Pamlico Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing