We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ackermann wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Brewster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ackermann wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was my first trip to the Outer Banks. Living on Cape Cod I was eager to see the differences and similarities of the hospitality industry. I now believe that the Cape Cod Board of Tourism should have a conference at the Inn on Pamlico Sound to learn what true inn keeping and stellar service is really about. The staff were truly amazing, funny, and sure could teach the staffers up here quite a few things. I hope they all got a piece of cake.(heard it was YUMMY.Dietary restrictions prevented me from having any) As mom of the Bride I had no worries just smiles and calmness. Steve, God Bless You and your truly remarkable staff. I'll someday return and bring Maggie some dog cookies. Mona

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    125
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
167
720
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had our wedding at the Inn. The staff and chef were out of this world!! Everything was EXCELLENT!! Jennifer,the co-ordinator, was extremely helpful and great to work with. She made arrangments with the best local businesses on the island. The food was superior! I would highly recommend The Inn to anyone that was planning a wedding at the Outer Banks. It was my dream wedding! and definately "stress free".

Room Tip: I am sure what ever room you pick you will be pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HunnyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you are looking for something unique in the area, a very high quality place, on the sound side, with lots of amenities, then you won't find anything better. We stayed two nights in 'Sea Oats' room, which was one of their best rooms.

Pros: A delicious breakfast is included. You can take sodas from the refrigerator in the common room, use movies in their theater or your room, take snacks from the basket in your room--all included. The view from the rooms of Pamlico sound is spectacular. They have a great restaurant on site that has live music each evening. The crab cakes were some of the best we have ever had. The jetted tub (roomy for one person) was a nice touch, also with dual shower heads. Staff were very nice and helpful. The room had a private deck to sit and look at the sunset and listen to the live music. There are cans of 'Off' for the bugs which come out in the evening.

Cons: The curtains failed to keep the light out of our room in the morning. The live music was pretty loud in the room (stopped at 8 or 9pm). The room was a bit warm without a separate thermostat (although the ceiling fan on high speed made this a non-issue). The internet signal in our room (right above the office where the main router was located) was quite weak--no connection on my android phone and almost none on our iPad. The 'private' deck was overlooking the house next door, about 100 feet away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I must say I haven't spent much time on any "sound side" resort or Inn but The Inn at Pamlico Sound takes the cake...wedding cake too!

I was the Officiate for two of my best friends wedding and the entire staff and vendors hired to help with the occasion were nothing short of Exemplorary! Everyone was super nice and helpful to make everything for the wedding and our stay as smooth and comfortable as possible. The moment we stepped into the office we were amazed at how beautiful this place was. The attention to detail from every aspect was superb, all the way down to the water glasses at the dining tables.

The sunsets on the sound were BEAUTIFUL and there are places on the beach of the sound or by the pool to enjoy it by everyone. There are also outdoor tables from the restaraunt that you can sit and enjoy the sunset as well.

The chef there is extraordinary and the entire menu's had something for every appetite from sea to Chicago...it was ALL GREAT!

I met the owner for a brief moment as he is ALWAYS improving something around the place to make it more enjoyable and a greater stay for everyone who walks through the door.

I will DEFINITELY be a return visitor flying solo, but you never know I may find someone able to put up with me for a week or weekend there someday :)

Room Tip: The Hyacinth room is quiet and close to the bar so you don't have to go far from the pub crawl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenSprouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our stay at the Inn was one of our life's shinning moments. We have stayed all along the Outer Banks over the last 25 years but have never enjoyed anywhere like we did here. We chose the Inn for our only daughter's wedding and could not have been more pleased. It was truly an all inclusive event. Jennifer was my go-to wedding planner and made even me, the mother of the bride, able to have a beautiful weekend. We stayed in the Magnolia which I will definitely do again. I have yet to find a more gorgeous, comfortable room on the Outer Banks that completely exceeded all my expectations. However, my family stayed in a few of the 11 rooms available and have yet to stop talking about how fabulous the accommodations were. I know of nowhere on the Island where you can enjoy scrumptious food, swim, sun, kayak, dance, drink in your rocking chair four floors up while watching the sun set, listen to live music, dine late and retire to a bed to die for all at one location. Bike around if you want to but everything you can dream about is right at the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa4Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had our wedding at the Inn. The staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. The rooms and views are a dream. Every guest said it was the best wedding they had ever attended including some of their own. The Inn is a treasure, if given an opportunity to visit do not hesitate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennvicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia mountains
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

this boutique inn on beautiful pamlico sound was EXACTLY what my husband i were looking for in a romantic, charming and utterly relaxing gettaway experience.. love all the gear and amenities the inn provides, for easy self-serve use (bikes, canoes, kayaks, fishing poles, beach chairs, inner tubes, life vests, ETC).. great food (the breakfast is over the top great!), wonderful decks and sitting areas everywhere.. lovely landscaping and gardens.. and of course, the great wide wonderful water view of the sound, from virtually every vantage point on the property. can't say enough about how perfect this place is!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TENf0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
7.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Property: The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Pamlico Sound 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn on Pamlico Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing