We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Cape Hatteras B&B is an excellent place to stay while visiting the outer banks. Breakfast was great and the location is convenient to all local attractions. Highly recommend it to anyone planning a few days on Cape Hatteras.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you William P for posting a review. We enjoyed having you guys stay with us for a few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were fortunate to stay in this lovely B & B near the end of September, but unfortunately only for one night.
The room was comfortable, bright and beach-themed with windows that allowed a beautiful ocean cross breeze throughout the room at night. Jed and Virginia have thought of everything, from the ice bucket to chill our wine, to bottles of cold water and freshly baked cookies to munch on, after an enjoyable bike ride around on the area on bikes provided by the inn.
The beach is a short walk to the end of the street and there are numerous restaurants to try.
Breakfast was phenomenal; courtesy of CHEF VIRGINIA. I am still salivating over the best home-fries I have ever tasted! Not only is the food exceptional, but you are given a choice of menu selections as well as a choice in times.
Thanks again for a lovely stay Jed and Virginia. You are an excellent warm and inviting team; and have lots of fun,love and laughter with your new member when he arrives in December.

Warm regards,

Kathie & Bob

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAKJOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you KAKJOttawa for posting a review. We wish you guys had spent more time with us as well. Maybe you can come and meet the full family next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our stay at Cape Hatteras B & B and have nothing but great things to say. Jed and Virginia were amazing hosts and made us feel very welcomed. I have never stayed in a B & B before so I was not sure what to expect. This place exceeded my expectations! The rooms were very clean and included all the amenities that we needed (microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, water and wine glasses, etc). It was a very short walk to the beach. There are also several restaurants within walking distance. They provide bikes, beach chairs, towels, beach bags, cooler and bottles for water. The breakfasts were delicious and there was something on the menu for everyone. Delicious snacks were provided for the guests (fruit and baked goods) as well as coffee all day long. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. We highly recommend Cape Hatteras B & B!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you epals for taking the time to post a review. We are happy your first B&B experience was a positive one, especially for your anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My mom and I had a little get away to this beautiful area recently. She had never stayed at a bed and breakfast, so I wanted her to see what she was missing. Yes, you pay more for a place like this, but if you want to feel completely comfortable and a bit pampered, its worth it. She had a great time, as did I. The B & B is located just a short walk to the ocean. It's located very central and the magnificent Cape Hatteras lighthouse is a short jaunt away. There are many excellent restaurants close by. Jed & Virginia were welcoming & made us very comfortable. If you are looking for a great place to come home to after a long day of meandering, this is it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Gilbert", which has a separate bedroom with a pull-out hide-a-bed. I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseytheriveter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you roseytheriveter for the positive review. We are glad you guys enjoyed your stay at our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My mom and I just returned from a wonderful trip to the Outer Banks with perfect accommodations at the Cape Hatteras B & B. Jed & Virginia were such inviting hosts that made us feel welcomed and pampered. The accommodations were perfect...beautiful rooms w/ all the amenities we needed (i.e., clean wine glasses every day so we could enjoy our cocktail hour). The highlight of every morning was the scrumptious breakfasts that Virginia prepared - each day a different specialty and all so delicious. And the highlight every evening were the lovely cocktails enjoyed on the "crow's nest" deck on the 2nd floor. This was a perfect spot to enjoy the sunsets, ocean views and cool breezes. I would love to return back w/ my husband to enjoy your beautiful inn once again.
Julie

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you Jsuth for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy you and your mother enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing the rest of the family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at 4 different B&B's on the OBX during this trip. Cape Hatteras B&B was our favorite. It is run by Jed and Virginia. They were extremely helpful with all types of information about the area, always ready to please and satisfy. The breakfasts were awesome, with different selections each day. The rooms were roomy, comfortable and clean. There were bikes, beach chairs, coolers available for taking to the beach or for a ride. Coffee and tes available all day, fresh made snack each afternoon. It is very close walking distance to the beach, thought the beach is somewhat washed out at the closest access. We went to the beach by the old lighthouse, very close by, and the beach was amazing...wide, flat, beach, beautiful ocean.
We'll definitely go back when we pass through Buxton again.

Room Tip: We were in Agnes room and we had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you Ray C for your positive review. We were glad you enjoyed you stay with us on your first visit to the Outer Banks. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I have used B&B facilities extensively in the US, UK and Europe, and found Cape Hatteras B&B to be one of the very best. It was immaculately clean, freshly painted, extremely well appointed and the breakfasts nothing short of sinful. We particularly appreciated having a room essentially at ground level with a chair lift to the second floor breakfast and sitting room areas. This was a wonderful accommodation to aging legs. Jed and Virginia are a delightful couple who have taken great pains to provide for every need and to make visitors feel completely at home. We will certainly be back in the future and recommend Cape Hatteras B&B to anyone for a long or short stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gloria, but I feel certain every room is equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you Frank R for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast

Address: 46223 Old Lighthouse Road, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amenities: wireless internet, fresh made breakfasts, filtered drinking water, homemade mint tea, and an afternoon snack. Relax on our sundeck with a beautiful view of the ocean, comfortable seating, and a gas grill. Enjoy using our enclosed outdoor H/C showers, lockable surfboard and sailboard storage, bicycles, beach chairs, coolers, and beach bags. Travel light and keep us in mind for quick escapes, sanity breaks, and relaxing vacations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras b&b
Cape Hatteras Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Bed Breakfast
Cape Hatteras Bed And Breakfast Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing