We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It is hard to add any more positive kudos to this delightful place because it has been all said before but I do want to salute it just a bit! The location, the cleanliness, all the beach goodies provided, the breakfasts to drool over / all make this place a treasure. Virginia and Jed could not have been any nicer and they always met every request with a smile. Why would people return year after year/ because Virginia and Jed made you feel like family and with all the daily food and laughter abounding / it made you want to take them home with you! Stay here and you will be treated like royalty! Ron and LL

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiLL1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you MimiLL1010 for the positive review. We enjoyed having you stay with us for the week. Sharing laughs with you guys over breakfast made our mornings a lot of fun. We look forward to seeing you guys again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 272 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I never take a vacation for ourselves -we always visit family or friends - so when we finally decided to treat ourselves for our wedding anniversary we booked the Andrews room at Cape Hatteras B&B - it could not have been more perfect. The Andrews room is on the 2nd floor away from the other rooms, with a deck that looks out towards the ocean - Jed and Virginia are warm and inviting. I wanted to pack Virginia in my suitcase when we went home, breakfast was such an absolutely delicious way to start everyday! This part of the Outer Banks is quiet and peaceful and with the beach only 500 feet away, we truly got to enjoy each other's company without fighting crowds or being surrounded by chain stores. We conveniently borrowed beach towels, coolers and beach chairs too. On the day it was a bit rainy, we felt comfortable playing board games in the living room and drinking beers on the roof deck, a nice break for my sunburn. We would LOVE to return next year - thanks Jed and Virginia!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caramel082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for posting a review Caramel082. We enjoyed having you guys stay with us for a few days. Its great that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your 5th wedding anniversary. We hope to see you in the future for more special getaways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast is located in a quiet area, which is perfect! Virginia and Jed were amazing and extremely friendly. The breakfast was amazing and every day there was a new feature. Virginia is an amazing chef and did a great job of doing something different each day my husband and I were there (11 days). The beach is right down the street and it was great being able to go down there whenever we wanted to. They also have chairs and umbrellas to use for the beach so you don't have to worry about bringing that with you on your vacation. The rooms were great, comfortable, and extremely well taken care of. It was our first time on Cape Hatteras and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. We definitely will be returning next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you Stephanie B for taking the time to leave a review. We were glad that you chose to spend your vacation time with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our B&B. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Another amazing two day stay at the Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast. We stayed for a few days last year and were absolutely blown away. The B and B has immaculately clean and comforatable guest rooms and an upstairs suite of common rooms and deck to enjoy. This B and B is only 100 yards from the beach and all amenities (cooler, chairs, umbrella, ice) are included. This alone makes this B and B second to none. Jed and Virginia are exactly what travelers should look for in Inn keepers. Welcoming, Kind, and Informative. Breakfast is just wow - Virginia does an amazing job each morning...guests have multiple choices each day. We cannot recomend this place highly enough excellent X10.

To change things up we headed south, took the ferry and spent a few days on ocracoke island - and lets just say the B and B we stayed at was lacking in all areas...after the first night we realized we should have spent our time at the Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast instead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GU6374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for the nice review GU6374. It was great to see you guys again. We were happy to read that we meet all of your expectations. We will see you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As part of our vacation down the East coast, we stayed at the Cape Hatteras B&B for 3 nights. The place is first class across the board: rooms have their own private entrance, it has a crisp, clean & modern vibe and they provide you with all the amenities for the beach. On other stops along our vacation we had to bring our small hotel towels to the beach and we sure did miss the beach chairs, towels and coolers that came with this B&B. Being able to take the bikes to the lighthouse and to explore was a bonus too. The biggest plus by far for us foodies was Jed & Virginia's service each morning at breakfast. Delicious and relaxed. We are convinced that Virginia should write a cookbook. I was literally excited for my breakfast each morning.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EricaMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for the great review EricaMilwaukee_WI. We were excited to read that we were a highlight of your east coast trip. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Hatteras B & B in late June/ early July. The room was bright, clean and comfortable. It was nice that rooms have individual entrances and outdoor benches apart from the common areas. The common areas areas are large and comfortable, a rooftop deck and windowed salon. The ocean is a stone's throw from the B&B; the availability of beach towels, umbrellas, chairs and other beach equipment as well as the hot/cold water filter saves you from having to lug a lot of stuff there. Breakfasts are generous and delicious. But the best part of it all are the innkeepers, Jed and Virginia. They're very caring and personable and attentive to the guests. All in all it's a great place to leave it all behind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you Christy for your review. We enjoyed having your family stay with us. We hope to see you guys again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went in late May. Our stay was fantastic. The room was great, the breakfast was great. It was just a very relaxing vacation. We used the bikes and rode around. The beach access is very convenient. Virginia and Jed are great hosts. I can't wait to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam-I-Am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you Pam-I-Am for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast

Address: 46223 Old Lighthouse Road, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amenities: wireless internet, fresh made breakfasts, filtered drinking water, homemade mint tea, and an afternoon snack. Relax on our sundeck with a beautiful view of the ocean, comfortable seating, and a gas grill. Enjoy using our enclosed outdoor H/C showers, lockable surfboard and sailboard storage, bicycles, beach chairs, coolers, and beach bags. Travel light and keep us in mind for quick escapes, sanity breaks, and relaxing vacations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras b&b
Cape Hatteras Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Bed Breakfast
Cape Hatteras Bed And Breakfast Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing